Hansons-Brooks athletes racing US 20 km Championships

Hansons-Brooks athletes racing US 20 km Championships

Hansons-Brooks athletes racing US 20 km Championships
Provided by Hanson-Brooks

Hansons-Brooks athletes racing US 20 km Championships

Rochester Hills, MI, August 28, 2008
--Hansons-Brooks (powered by Saturn) athletes Melissa White, Dot McMahan, Nick Arciniaga, and Kyle O'Brien will be racing the USA 20km Championships in New Haven on Labor Day.

Melissa White returns to New Haven after a seventh place finish and personal best 1:11:11 in 2007. White was also a top-ten finisher at the USA Half Marathon Championships this year (1:13:13), placed 14th at the USA Olympic Team Trials in the Marathon (2:37:53) and placed 19th at the USA Olympic Team Trials in the 10,000 meters (33:54.35).

Teammate Dot McMahan finished only ten seconds behind White in 2007, to claim her second top-ten finish at USA 20km Championships (8th-2007, 9th-2005). Since then, McMahan has set personal bests on the roads in the 5 km (16:44), the half marathon (1:13:07), and the marathon (2:35:02)--placing eighth in the highly competitive USA Half Marathon Championships and in the USA Olympic Marathon Trials in April.

Other top competitors in the women's field include the fourth and fifth place finishers from the Olympic Marathon Trials—Zoila Gomez (Albuquerque, N.M.) and Tera Moody (Boulder, Colo.)—in addition to Olympian and 2007 USA half marathon champion Elva Dryer of Gunnison, Colo.

For the men, both Kyle O'Brien and Nick Arciniaga will be making their first appearance in the USA 20km Championships. Their half marathon bests are 1:04:43 and 1:05:44, respectively. O'Brien's highest placing in a USA Championship race came at the 2007 USA 25km Championships, where he was 7th in 1:18:17. In the same race, Arciniaga raced to a 9th place finish (1:18:42).

Returning champion Dan Browne (Beaverton, Ore.) is one of many potential contenders, including 2008 USA Half Marathon champion James Carney (Eugene, Ore.), 2008 USA 15km champion Andrew Carlson (Minneapolis, Minn.), Adam Goucher (Portland, Oreg.) and Josh Rohatinsky (Beaverton, Ore.).

Brian Sell and Desiree Davila hold the team bests in the event of 59:18 (2003) and 1:10:08 (2007), respectively. Both times were posted at the USA 20km Championships on the same course. Sell's second place finish in the 2003 race still stands as the highest placing for a Hansons-Brooks athlete.

The race will get underway at 8:40 a.m. EST and race results will be available at the Stratton Faxon New Haven Road Race home page following the race.