Cornerstone U - De Young wins WHAC Individual Title; Men's XC finishes second

Cornerstone U - De Young wins WHAC Individual Title; Men's XC finishes second

Provided by Cornerstone U

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. - Steady rain and a wind chill of 31 degrees did little to douse the competitiveness of the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Cross Country Championships. In another epic battle, Indiana Tech edged Cornerstone for the team title with 46 points while CU was just behind them at 56 and Aquinas in third at 59. Colin De Young took home the individual title.

The Golden Eagles entered the meet ranked twelfth in the latest NAIA poll with Indiana Tech at 20th and Aquinas 26th. But rankings don't count for much at a WHAC Championship. From the start, Aquinas put five men in the lead pack with Indiana Tech's front five mixed in. Cornerstone's Colin De Young sat on shoulder of the leader, Tony Floyd of Madonna with Joey DeBoer right behind him.

Two miles into the 8,000 meter race, Aquinas and Tech controlled the pack and while CU's 3-7 group was stringing out. In the fourth mile, the Warrior from Tech were chipping away at Aquinas, whose fourth and fifth men were drifting back. CU's Doug Hollett began pushing forward while Zach Feldpausch and Denver Daniel went to work reeling in Aquinas' number five man.

In the final mile, De Young opened up nine seconds on Floyd, reversing their order from the 2016 Championship. De Young's winning time of 25:09 was a season best. DeBoer held on to third, lowering his best time to 25:22. Arik LaFave of Aquinas was three seconds back in fourth then Tech took four of the next six spots to secure the team title. Hollett's kick got him thirteenth in personal best 26:08. Feldpaush and Daniel picked up just enough places to keep CU three points ahead of Aquinas. The pair finished 19th and 20th with Feldpausch just ahead. Both were clocked at 26:24, a new best for Daniel.

Other personal bests on the day included Grant Gayan's 26:49 in 32nd, Phil Merrell's 27:00 in 38th, Owen Woltjer 33rd in 27:04 and Ben Hoftra 76th in 28:27.

Indiana Tech won with 46 points, ten ahead of Cornerstone's 56. Aquinas was a close third with 56 followed by Madonna at 87 and Siena Heights completing the top five with 115.

De Young and DeBoer earned All-Conference honors and De Young also picked up the WHAC Runner of the Year award.