Molly Seidel wins pro debut to earn USATF Athlete of the Week

Molly Seidel wins pro debut to earn USATF Athlete of the Week

Provided by USATF

Molly Seidel (Watertown, Massachusetts) won in her professional debut Sunday at Boston’s Franklin Park, clocking 16:18 for 5K in the BAA Mayor’s Cup cross country meet to earn USATF Athlete of the Week.

Seidel, the 2015 NCAA cross country champion for Notre Dame, won by 30 seconds over Abbey D’Agostino, who was running competitively for the first time since suffering an ACL injury at the Rio Games last year. Her 16:18 was the second-fastest ever run on the three-loop route.

Other notable performances:

Nick Christie — Christie won the USATF 30K Race Walk Championships by almost six minutes, crossing the line in 2:21:49 at Hauppauge, New York.

Erin Taylor Talcott — Taylor Talcott was the women’s winner at the USATF 30K Race Walk Championships, finishing in 2:59:34.

Claudia Lane — Malibu, California, high school junior Lane shaved 11 seconds off the course record at the Mt. SAC Cross Country Invitational with her 15:49 over the 2.93-mile course.

Grant Colligan — Colligan won the individual title by 13 seconds and led his Colorado School of Mines squad to an upset team win at the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Championships.

Now in its 16th year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

2017 Winners: January 5, Miranda Melville; January 12, Leonard Korir; January 19, Jordan Hasay; January 26, Keni Harrison; February 2, Michael Wardian; February 9, Mikey Brannigan; February 16, Ajee’ Wilson; February 23, Kathy Martin; March 2, Keturah Orji; March 9, Noah Lyles; March 16, Christian Walker; March 23, Allen Woodard; March 30, Bob Lida; April 6, Anna Rohrer; April 12, Sydney McLaughlin; April 19, Ben True; April 26, Jordan Hasay; May 3, Clayton Murphy; May 10, Gwen Berry; May 17, Christian Coleman; May 24, Joe Kovacs; May 31, Christian Taylor; June 7, Sydney McLaughlin; June 14, Christian Coleman; Tianna Bartoletta, June 21; Ryan Crouser, June 28; Sam Kendricks, July 6; Allyson Felix, July 12; Julia Hawkins, July 19; Ajee’ Wilson, July 26; Kayla Davis, August 2; Justin Gatlin, August 9; Emma Coburn, August 16; Jarrion Lawson, August 23; Kevin Castille, August 30; Darrell Hill, September 6; Jenny Simpson, September 13; Harvey Lewis, III, September 20; Ryan Vail, September 27; Joy Upshaw, October 4; Galen Rupp, October 11; Carol Finsrud, October 18; Molly Seidel, October 25.

We welcome your nominations!

To nominate an athlete for USATF Athlete of the Week, please send a detailed email about his/her performance to [email protected]