EMU - Men's Cross Country Concludes Regular Season with Fall Classic

EMU - Men's Cross Country Concludes Regular Season with Fall Classic

Provided by EMU

DEXTER, Mich. (EMUEagles.com) – Another strong regular season came to a close today, Oct. 21, for the No. 27 Eastern Michigan University men's cross country team, as the squad took part in the annual EMU Fall Classic in Dexter, Mich. The Eagles had six harriers participate in the race, while five of them finished within the top-50.

Sophomore Morgan O'Flahrity (Madison, Wis. – Edgewood) paced the squad in the opening portion of the race, while the remainder of the team was just behind him. As the race progressed, O'Flahrity maintained his lead and sophomore David Saporito (Warren, Mich. – Warren Mott) snuck into EMU's second-spot, followed by redshirt freshman Colin Burdette (Hilliard, Ohio – Hilliard Davidson) in third.

Within the final 1000 meters, O'Flahrity continued to lead the EMU pack. However, Burdette jumped into the second-spot and junior Tom Jozwiak (Southgate, Mich. – Thomas J. Anderson) crept into third.

Ultimately, the first Eagle to cross the finish line was Burdette, who clocked in at 16:07.9 to take 25th. O'Flahrity was the next EMU harrier to finish, as he nabbed 30th with a time of 16:14.3. Rounding out the top-three for the Green and White was junior Nick McFarland (Hillsborough, N.J. – Hillsborough), who took home 33rd in 16:25.2

Jozwiak, despite his late surge, finished the race in 35th, posting a time of 16:28.0. Finally, Saporito and redshirt junior Caleb Hess (Owosso, Mich. – Owosso) brought home 45th and 68th, respectively.

The Eagles will now turn their attention to the postseason, as the Mid-American Conference Championships take place in just over a week, Oct. 29, in Kent, Ohio. Eastern will compete for their 21st overall, and seventh consecutive, MAC title in program history.

EMU Individual Results (5K)

25. Colin Burdette 16:07.9

30. Morgan O'Flahrity 16:14.3

33. Nick McFarland 16:25.2

35. Tom Jozwiak 16:28.0

45. David Saporito 16:39.1

68. Caleb Hess 17:23.0