EMU - Eagles Take Second at Spartan Invitational

EMU - Eagles Take Second at Spartan Invitational

Provided by EMU

East Lansing, Mich. (EMUEagles.com) – The Eastern Michigan University men's cross country team kept the 2016 season rolling today, Sept. 16, running at the Spartan Invitational in East Lansing, Mich. As a team, the Eagles took home a second-place finish with 42 points, which was 13 points behind Michigan State, and 10 points better than third-place Miami.

A total of seven veteran Eagles made their season debuts today at the 8,000-meter race, highlighted by three harriers who finished within the top-15. Redshirt junior team captain Hlynur Andresson (Vestmannaeyjar, Iceland – Mountain Ridge) had a fantastic season-opening race, clocking in at 25:00 to finish fourth out of more than 400 runners.

Also turning in a top-10 performance was junior Lahsene Bouchikhi (Antwerp, Belgium - Stedelijk Lyceum Paardenmarkt Luchthaven), who crossed the finish line in 25:11 to take eighth. Two more Eagles finished the race with times under 26 minutes, as redshirt junior Abel Flores (Defiance, Ohio – Defiance) and senior John Knox (Gloversville, N.Y. – Gloversville) clocked in at 25:23 and 25:49, respectively.

Behind the duo of Flores and Knox, junior Csaba Matko (Racalmas, Hungary - Szechenyi Istvan Gimnazium) had a solid season debut, finishing 55th in 26:07. Redshirt junior Mitch Lenneman (River Falls, Wis. – River Falls) finished within the top-75, nabbing 72nd after crossing the finish line in 26:17.

The Eagles' top runner from last weekend, redshirt freshman Austin Sargent (Ccedar Spring, Mich. – Cedar Spring), followed up his first meet donning the Green and White with another good race, coming in 90th with a time of 26:27.

Next weekend, the Eagles will be competition free, as their next race comes Sept. 30 at the prestigious Notre Dame Invitational.

Team Results

2. Eastern Michigan 42

EMU Individual Results

4. Hlynur Andresson 25:00

8. Lahsene Bouchikhi 25:11

15. Abel Flores 25:23

36. John Knox 25:49

55. Csaba Matko 26:07

72. Mitch Lenneman 26:17

90. Austin Sargent 26:27

100. Morgan O'Flahrity 26:35

104. Austin Wicker 26:41

126. Nick McFarland 27:05

160. Tom Jozwiak 27:41

196. David Saporito 28:15