EMU - Alejandro Qualifies to 2016 Olympics

EMU - Alejandro Qualifies to 2016 Olympics

Provided by EMU

Puerto Rico (EMUEagles.com) – The Eastern Michigan University men's track and field team will once again be represented in the Olympics, as alumnus Eric Alejandro qualified to compete for Puerto Rico in the 2016 Olympic Games this past weekend, July 3. This marks the second time that Alejandro, a 2008 graduate, will compete at the Olympics, as he also qualified to the 2012 Games in London.

Alejandro, who competed in the 400m hurdles, earned his bid to Rio after clocking in with a time of 49.16 seconds. His mark was just .01 seconds off of his time at the semifinals of the 2012 Olympics in London.

"What an amazing accomplishment for Eric, the EMU track and field program, and the entire Eastern Michigan University community of alumni, students, faculty, and staff," exclaimed EMU head coach John Goodridge.

The EMU men's and women's track programs have had a representative at each Olympic Games since 1960, totaling an impressive 14 straight Olympics. With Alejandros' qualification, that figure increases to 15 consecutive Olympic Games. On the men's side, a total of six medals have been won, four of them being gold. The all-time list of EMU men's track and field Olympians can be found below.

The Eagles will have a chance for another men's track and field alumnus to qualify to the Olympics, as Donald Scott will compete in the triple jump at the U.S. Olympic Trials, beginning July 7 at 4:45 p.m. pacific time.

All-Time Eastern Michigan Men's Track and Field Olympians

1960 – Hayes Jones (Bronze in 110m Hurdles)

1964 – Hayes Jones (Gold in 110m Hurdles)

1968 – Dave Ellis

1972 – Hasely Crawford

1972 – Tony Nelson

1976 – Hasely Crawford (Gold in 100m)

1980 – Hasely Crawford

1984 – Hasely Crawford

1984 – Earl Jones (Bronze in 800m)

1988 – Tommy Asinga

1992 – Tommy Asinga

1996 – Paul McMullen

1996 – Tommy Asinga

1996 – Greg Rhymer

1996 – Clement Chukwu

2000 – Clement Chukwu (Gold in 4x400m Relay)

2000 – Nduka Awazie (Gold in 4x400m Relay)

2000 – Fabian Rollins

2004 – Jamie Nieto

2012 – Jamie Nieto

2012 – Eric Alejandro

2016 – Eric Alejandro