GVSU Lakers Claim Gold Race at Notre Dame Invite

GVSU Lakers Claim Gold Race at Notre Dame Invite

Provided by GVSU

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – The Grand Valley State men's and women's cross country teams dominated the field in both races at the 2014 Notre Dame Invitational gold race. The women's team, ranked No. 1 in Division II according to the latest USTFCCCA National Poll, tallied a team score of 53 to take the overall title. The GVSU men, ranked No. 2 in the country, tallied a team score of 71 points to claim the 8k event versus 22 other opposing schools.

For the women, senior Allyson Winchester finished third overall in the event, crossing the finish line in a time of 16:52.0 and .06 seconds behind the individual race winner. Kendra Foley finished fifth (18:58.3), followed by Jessica Jenecke in ninth (17.08.7), Hannah Osborn in 17th (17:18.0), Jordan Chester in 22nd (17:27.8), Kaylie Rhynard in 77th (18:05.6), and Jenna Klynstra in 89th (18:12.1). Also finishing the 5k race for the Lakers were Madie Rodts in 97th with a time of 18:18.7, and Alison Work in 118th with a time of 18:30.8.

In the men's race, GVSU's Alan Peterson placed second overall in the event, finishing in a time of 23:59.8. Chad Cini was the next GVSU runner to cross the finish line with a time of 24:31.0 to place 11th. Rounding out the lineup for Grand Valley State was Chris May in 14th (24:34.5), Kyle Flores in 20th (24:38.3), Wuoi Mach in 24th (24:50.3), Trevor Sharnas in 29th (24:54.8) and John Luterbach in 33rd (24:59.5). Torben Hoffmeyer also ran a solid race, placing 68th with a time of 25:29.4.

There were also a number of Grand Valley State runners in the Open Race. The top three finishers for the men were Mark List in 12th (24:43.7), Mitch Wilkins in 14th (24:58.8), and Michael Matusiak in 15th (25:02.4), while the women's top three in the race were Sarah Cullip in 17th (18:07.6), Kelly Haubert in 23rd (18:16.7), and Rachel Bendewald in 27th (18:22.4).

GVSU hits the trails once again on Friday, Oct. 10, when they head to Muskegon Community College to race at the 2014 Jayhawk Invitational.