CMU - Freshman Toreki Leads Chippewas at MSU Invite

CMU - Freshman Toreki Leads Chippewas at MSU Invite

Provided by CMU

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Senior Abbey Kelto placed eighth in the women's race and freshman Alec Toreki was 32nd in the men's event to lead the Central Michigan cross country teams Friday at the 29th annual Auto Owners Insurance Spartan Invitational at Forest Akers East Golf Course.

Kelto finished the women's race, a 6K, in 21 minutes, 40 seconds, while Toreki posted a 25:27 in the men's race, an 8K. It was the first time Toreki had ever run a competitive 8K.

"Alec beat a lot of guys he competed against in high school, so it was nice to see him get over that hump in his debut in the 8K today," CMU associate coach Matt Kaczor said.

Senior Leah O'Connor won the women's race in 21:03, leading a strong performance by Michigan State. The Spartans took the top four spots and seven of the top 10. No team scores were kept.

Brian Baum, a senior from Ashland, won the men's race in 24:36. Eastern Michigan's Willy Fink (24:39) was second, while MSU's Caleb Rhynard was third (24:40).

Also for CMU, junior Silas Dekalita (25:40) and freshman Joseph Emmanuel (25:41) finished 47th and 48th, respectively. Chippewas sophomore Casey Voisin (26:15) was 80th, and junior Monte Scott (26:35) was 99th.

CMU sophomore Esther Bell (22:55) was 43rd in the women's race, while freshman Hannah Davis (23:07) was 50th, and freshman Alyssa Bynda (23:30) was 71st. Also for the Chippewas, Katie Weiler (23:51), Jamie Madrigal (24:00) and Michaela Bundy (24:02) finished 93rd, 96th and 98th, respectively. The women's race comprised 307 runners, the men's race 371. Some 30 colleges and universities, most from the state of Michigan, partook in the event.

"The top end looks pretty good for us on the men's side," Kaczor said. "I'm not going to complain too much about how well they performed today. They stuck to the game plan of working as a group and moved throughout the race."

Next for the Chippewas is the Roy Griak Invitational, hosted by Minnesota, on Sept. 27. The CMU men's team's top three runners, Nate Ghena, Spencer Nousain and Ethan Lievense are expected to compete for the first time this season.