Meb Makes History as First American Man to Win Boston Marathon in 31 Years

Meb Makes History as First American Man to Win Boston Marathon in 31 Years

Provided by USATF

BOSTON -- Meb Keflezighi was phenomenal Monday as he pulled away from the fastest men’s field in history Monday, holding off Kenya’s Wilson Chebet to become the first American man to win the Boston Marathon in 31 years. Keflezighi is the first U.S. men’s champion since Greg Meyer in 1983.

Keflezighi crossed in 2:08:37 to better his PR of 2:09:08 from the 2012 Olympic Marathon Trials. Keflezighi, who won the 2009 New York City Marathon, becomes the first American to win the NYC Marathon, Boston Marathon and capture an Olympic medal (2004 Olympic silver medalist - marathon).

Keflezighi looked comfortable throughout the race, breaking away from the pack and never relinquishing his lead. He ran the last 15 miles solo and enjoyed every step, pumping his fists to the crowd and celebrating with those at the finish line after crossing.

Hopes for the first American women’s winner since 1985 ended when Shalane Flanagan, who led a blistering pace and topped the field through 15 miles, faded on the Newton Hills. Flanagan, who finished fourth last year, finished seventh. She still beat her personal best by three minutes. Flanagan crossed in 2:22:02. Rita Jeptoo ran a course record 2:18:57 to defend her Boston Marathon title and take her third victory overall (2006, 2013, 2014).

The field was the fastest in Boston history, with five men who had run a marathon in 2:05 or faster and two women who had bested 2:20.

Earlier in the weekend, Americans captured titles in the women’s 5K and the women’s invitational mile. 2013 USARC winner Molly Huddle won the women’s 5K in 15:12, tying the B.A.A 5K record set by Werknesh Kidane (ETH) in 2012. Morgan Uceny won the women’s invitational mile, crossing in 4:44.0 for her third victory.

For complete results, go to

Elite Athletes at the 118th Boston Marathon


1st - Meb Keflezighi (2:08:37)

7th - Nick Arciniaga (2:11:47)

8th - Jeff Eggleston (2:11:57)

11th - Josphat Boit (2:12:52)

16th - Abdi Abdirahman (2:16:06)

18th - Brett Gotcher (2:17:16)

20th - Ryan Hall (2:17:50)

38th - Jason Hartmann (2:25:41)


7th - Shalane Flanagan (2:22:02)

10th - Desiree Linden (2:23:54)

15th - Adriana Nelson (2:31:15)

18th - Serena Burla (2:32:27)

Amanda Brooks