Club Cross champion Joseph Gray earns USATF’s Athlete of the Week

Club Cross champion Joseph Gray earns USATF’s Athlete of the Week

Provided by USATF

INDIANAPOLIS -- “To be honored as one of the athletes of the week is a huge accomplishment for me, and it’s something I will always remember,” said Gray. “I have been involved with USATF for a long time in my career - since I was running in Junior Olympics.”

The 27-year-old Gray (Lakewood, Wash.) represented Club Northwest among a field of over 400 runners in the men’s open 10 km Club Cross event, and he finished in 31:05, noting, “The best way to say it is that I went out really aggressively because there were so many people in the race.”

Always keeping the front of the pack within reach, “Slowly I started making my way up to fourth place approaching the back stretch,” he continued. “When we had the long climb and it was windy, I was able to take the lead and from there I decided to hang on.”

For Gray, crossing the finish line was unforgettable. “It was a great moment from such a long running career,” said the champion. “I’ve been coming to Club Cross for a long time, so it was unbelievable and a dream come true to win in such a competitive field.”

His elite running career dates back 2003, when he earned his way on the U.S. Junior National Track & Field Team, running steeplechase at the Pan American Games. The 13-time National Team member ran for University of Portland, where competed in the 2003 NCAA Cross Country Championships before transferring to run at Oklahoma State from 2004-2006.

2013 Winners: January 9, Bobby Mack; January 16, Mary Cain; January 22, Ajeé Wilson; January 30, Duane Solomon; February 6, Chris Derrick; February 13, Jeremy Taiwo; February 20, Alysia Montaño; February 27, Galen Rupp; March 6, Jenn Suhr; March 13, Tia Brooks; March 20, Bridget Franek; March 27, Ben True; April 3, Darvis “Doc” Patton; April 10, Octavious Freeman; April 24, Erik Kynard; May 1, Queen Harrison; May 8, Tyson Gay; May 15, Jon Olsen; May 22, Mary Cain; May 29, Michael Tinsley; June 5, Mary Cain; June 12, Brianna Rollins; June 26, Brianna Rollins; July 3, Thomas Burns; July 10, Ryan Whiting; July 17, William Bell. Sr.; July 24, Jenny Simpson; July 31, Tia Jones; August 14, Brittney Reese; August 21, LaShawn Merritt; August 28, Megan Glasmann; September 4, Matt Tegenkamp; September 11, Mandy Ortiz; September 18, David Oliver; September 25, Molly Huddle; October 3, Desi Davila; October 10, Kathryn Martin; October 17, Michael Mannozzi; October 24, Matt Flaherty; October 30, Kelly Calway; November 7, Tatyana McFadden; November 18, Molly Huddle; November 25, Abbey D’Agostino; December 11, Alexa Efraimson; December 18, Joseph Gray.

About USA Track & Field

USA Track & Field (USATF) is the National Governing Body for track and field, long-distance running and race walking in the United States. USATF encompasses the world's oldest organized sports, some of the most-watched events of Olympic broadcasts, the country’s #1 high school and junior high school participatory sport and more than 30 million adult runners in the United States. For more information on USATF, visit

Christa Mann