U of M - Albaugh Wins First Collegiate Title at Hoosier Invite

U of M - Albaugh Wins First Collegiate Title at Hoosier Invite

Provided by U of M

Site: Bloomington, Ind. (IU Cross Country Course)

Meet: Hoosier Invitational (8,000 Meters)

U-M Team Finish: Non-scoring

Top U-M Individual: Scotty Albaugh, 1st (25:10.1)

Next U-M Event: Friday, Nov. 15 -- at NCAA Great Lakes Regional (Madison, Wis.), Noon CST

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- Junior/sophomore Scotty Albaugh (Waterford, Mich./Waterford Mott)

recorded his first collegiate win to lead the 16th-ranked University of Michigan men's cross country team at the non-scoring 8,000 meter Hoosier Invitational on Friday (Nov. 8) at the IU Cross Country Course.

Albaugh crossed the finish line three seconds ahead of two consecutive Indiana runners in a collegiate-best time of 25:10.1.

Junior/sophomore Nick Posada (Winter Park, Fla./Winter Park), who was U-M's top finisher at the Notre Dame Invitational Oct. 4 -- the last time this seven-man squad competed together -- was the Wolverines second finisher in the top 10, crossing the line in a time of 25:29.3.

Junior/sophomore Jeff Sattler (Byron Center, Mich./Byron Center) ran 21 seconds faster than his last 8K effort -- at Notre Dame -- stopping the clock at 26:02.9 to place 15th overall. Coming in just behind Sattler to secure Michigan's final two top-five spots were sophomore Alex Moran (Pittsburgh, Pa./Mt. Lebanon) (26:10.3) and sophomore/freshman George Kelly (Lincroft, N.J./Christian Brothers Academy) (26:15.4), who earned the 18th and 21st spots, respectively.

Senior Nathan Karr (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer) (26:30.4) and sophomore/freshman Jarred Bratley (Andover, Mich./Andover) (27:04.6) rounded out the Wolverines' seven-man squad. Karr placed 24th, while Bratley took 35th in the 57-harrier field.

The Wolverines will resume the championship portion of their season on Friday, Nov. 15, at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional, which will be hosted by the University of Wisconsin for the second straight season. The 10,000-meter race will go off at noon CST at Zimmer Championship Course.

Top 10 Finishers

1. SCOTTY ALBAUGH, U-M 25:10.1

2. Nolan Fife, Indiana 25:13.6

3. Owen Skeete, Indiana 25:13.9

4. NICK POSADA, U-M 25:29.3

5. Kyle Overway, Indiana 25:30.6

6. Blake Hale, UNA-Indiana State 25:31.6

7. Billy Bund, UNA-Michigan 25:33.2

8. Joshua Roche, Indiana 25:33.3

9. Will Burke, UNA-Michigan 25:35.4

10. Tyeson Mundy, Indiana 25:41.0

Other Michigan Finishers

15. Jeff Sattler, U-M 26:02.9

18. Alex Moran, U-M 26:10.3

21. George Kelly, U-M 26:15.4

24. Nathan Karr, U-M 26:30.4

35. Jarred Bratley, U-M 27:04.6

Contact: Whitney Dixon