EMU - Eagles Win Fourth MAC Championship in a Row

EMU - Eagles Win Fourth MAC Championship in a Row

Provided by EMU

BOWLING GREEN, Ohio (EMUEagles.com)--Eastern Michigan University's men's cross country team won its 18th total and fourth in-a-row Mid-American Conference Championship title, Saturday, Nov. 2. The team cruised to a first-place finish despite a cold and rainy day in Bowling Green, Ohio with a total of 42 points, followed by Akron with 67 points.

The Eagles were led by senior Grzegorz Kalinowski (Torun, Poland-Nicolaus Copernicus University), who grabbed third-place in the 8,000-meter race with his time of 25:04.43. Shortly after, fellow senior Harry Dixon (Nelson, New Zealand, Nayland College) swept in for the fifth-place finish at 25:10.81. The individual 2013 MAC Champion was Buffalo's Zachary Ahart with a 24:47.60 mark.

The Green and White landed four more harriers in the top-20 with juniors Warren Witchell (Williamstar, Mich.-Dansville) and Daryl Smith (Windsor, Ontario-Vincent Massey S.S.), sophomore Willy Fink (Maumee, Ohio-Maumee) and freshman Nick Raymond (Erie, Mich.-Mason) finishing well ahead of the majority of the field.

Kalinowski and Dixon were honored with All-MAC First Team accolades for their performance, while Witchell and Fink were named to the second team. Additionally, Head Coach John Goodridge received his ninth MAC Coach of the Year award. Goodridge now sits in a tie with legendary EMU Head Coach Bob Parks for the most MAC Championship titles won in a career, with nine.

"We have a balanced team, and on each given meet we have to come up with a complete team effort, and we were able to do that today," said Goodridge of the squad's performance of the day.

Looking toward the future, Goodridge has the desire to keep winning championships at the conference level. "Tradition is a very big part of our program, and the opportunity to be part of a championship experience is very meaningful and we've been very fortunate in attracting athletes that want to have that collegiate conference championship experience. We're certainly going to enjoy today's championship and get back to work defending our title next year."

The Eagles still have more to look forward to for this season with the NCAA Great Lakes Regional Championships only two weeks away, Friday, Nov. 15, in Madison, Wisc.

Team Standings

1. Eastern Michigan 42

2. Akron6 67

3. Central Michigan 104

4. Ohio 121

5. Buffalo 122

6. Miami 136

7. Kent State 142

8. Toledo 204

9. Bowling Green 228

MAC Champion: Zachary Ahart (Buffalo)

MAC Coach of the Year: John Goodridge (EMU)

All-MAC First Team

Zachary Ahart (Buffalo)

David Wing (Miami)

Grzegorz Kalinowski (EMU)

Nate Ghena (Central Michigan)

Harry Dixon (EMU)

Jason Sayler (Bowling Green)

Spenser Nousain (Central Michigan)

All-MAC Second Team

Warren Witchell (EMU)

Matt Kahl (Kent State)

Brad Hough (Akron)

Willy Fink (EMU)

Trevor Norris (Akron)

Clayton Murphy (Akron)

Kyle Cochrun (Akron)

EMU Individual Results

3. Kalinowski, Grzegorz 25:04.43

5. Dixon, Harry 25:10.81

8. Witchell, Warren 25:14.89

11. Fink, Willy 25:26.20

15. Smith, Daryl 25:38.79

16. Raymond, Nick 25:41.49

37. Knox, John 26:11.05

62. Trinh, Cameron 26:58.84

69. Hancke, Ian 27:34.36