Molly Huddle Named USATF Athlete of the Week

Molly Huddle Named USATF Athlete of the Week

Provided by USATF

INDIANAPOLIS - Molly Huddle has been named USATF Athlete of the Week after her win at the USA 5 km Championships, hosted by the CVS Caremark Downtown 5k in Providence, R.I.

Capturing her second consecutive win at this event, Huddle’s (Providence, R.I.) burst of speed in the final 100 meters separated her from the field and the hometown favorite crossed the finish line victoriously in 15:29.6.

“It is a special win for me because of (the race) being in Providence,” Huddle said after the race. “Now that I have some points, I hope I can do the 12k that’s coming up. That’s an exciting twist to the US Road Racing Circuit that we have this year (.US Road Racing Championships), so I definitely want to show up for that and do a little longer race, so I’ll train through the season.”

Other performances of note include Andy Bumbalough (Portland, Ore.) winning his first USA road race title finishing first at the US 5km Championships in 13:45.9, while Jenny Simpson (Boulder, Colo.) ran 4:19.3 to win the Fifth Avenue Mile.

Now in its 12th year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

2013 Winners: January 9, Bobby Mack; January 16, Mary Cain; January 22, Ajeé Wilson; January 30, Duane Solomon; February 6, Chris Derrick; February 13, Jeremy Taiwo; February 20, Alysia Montaño; February 27, Galen Rupp; March 6, Jenn Suhr; March 13, Tia Brooks; March 20, Bridget Franek; March 27, Ben True; April 3, Darvis “Doc” Patton; April 10, Octavious Freeman; April 24, Erik Kynard; May 1, Queen Harrison; May 8, Tyson Gay; May 15, Jon Olsen; May 22, Mary Cain; May 29, Michael Tinsley; June 5, Mary Cain; June 12, Brianna Rollins; June 26, Brianna Rollins; July 3, Thomas Burns; July 10, Ryan Whiting; July 17, William Bell. Sr.; July 24, Jenny Simpson; July 31, Tia Jones; August 14, Brittney Reese; August 21, LaShawn Merritt; August 28, Megan Glasmann; September 4, Matt Tegenkamp; September 11, Mandy Ortiz; September 18, David Oliver; September 25, Molly Huddle.

Susan Hazzard