Provided by IAAF

British Athletics has today named a 60-strong team for the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia, from 10-18 August.

Leading the charge for medals in Russia will be double Olympic champion Mo Farah in the 5000m and 10,000m who receives an automatic place in the men’s 5000m as defending World champion. Farah will be attempting to become the first Briton to retain a world title while Olympic silver medallist Christine Ohuruogu will look to regain the title she won in 2007.

Ohuruogu’s sister Victoria is also named as a member of the 4x400m squad, making them the first British sisters to feature together in a World Championships team. Olympic Heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis-Hill will be looking to claim back the gold she won in Berlin in 2009.

Other athletes to be automatically selected include Olympic High Jump bronze medallist Robbie Grabarz, who receives an automatic place following his 2012 Diamond League victory, and defending World 400m Hurdles champion Dai Greene.

In the battle for places in the men’s 100m, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey and James Dasaolu join British champion Dwain Chambers on the flight to Moscow, and World junior 100m champion Adam Gemili lines up alongside James Ellington over 200m

There are men’s British senior debuts for World junior champion Delano Williams in the 200m, Chris O’Hare in the 1500m, European under-23 400m Hurdles medallist Sebastian Rodger, plus Deji Tobais and Jamie Bowie in the 4x100m and 4x400m relay squads.

In the men’s Long Jump, UKA performance director Neil Black has opted to use performance director’s discretion to take a further period of time to decide on the athlete selection. This decision will be announced on 30 July.

In the women’s team, Asha Philip is rewarded for her stellar British Championships win with the sole 100m berth, while Anyika Onuora, one of only three women globally to hold A standards over 100m, 200m and 400m in 2013, is selected in the 200m and the 4x400m relay.

Currently in superb form, British champion Shara Proctor is named in the Long Jump. Proctor marginally fouled a seven-metre jump at the weekend, and will be aiming to make her first outdoor major championships podium.

In the women’s 800m, joining British champion Marilyn Okoro are youngsters Jessica Judd and European Indoor Championships 1500m representative Laura Muir.

Judd, who had been named for the British team for the European Juniors in Rieti this week has withdrawn from the age group championships to concentrate on her preparations for Moscow.

Enjoying their debuts on the women’s side are Dina Asher-Smith in the women’s 4x100m squad, who at 17 is the youngest member of the team, and long jumper Lorraine Ugen.

“The team selected for GB & NI are a mix of defending champions, potential medallists, finalists and some really exciting young talents that we see as future medallists,” said British Athletics performance director Neil Black.

“Last weekend’s Sainsbury’s British Championships was a brilliant stage for the world trials, and we saw some world class performances. It gave the selectors a real opportunity to see the athletes in championship mode and we were not disappointed.

“A year on from the Games and it is great to look forward to Moscow with the selected team, as we take our first steps in the build up towards Rio 2016 and London 2017.”

British Athletics for the IAAF



100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu.

200m: James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Delano Williams.

400m: Nigel Levine.

800m: Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer.

1500m: Chris O’Hare.

5000m: Mo Farah.

10,000m: Farah.

110mH: William Sharman.

400mH: Dai Greene, Sebastian Rodger, Rhys Williams.

3000mSC: James Wilkinson.

Long Jump: TBA.

High Jump: Robbie Grabarz.

Pole Vault: Steve Lewis.

Discus: Brett Morse.

Decathlon: Ashley Bryant.

4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Chambers, Dasaolu, Ellington, Gemili, Richard Kilty, Andrew Robertson, Deji Tobais.

4x400m: Michael Bingham, Jamie Bowie, Luke Lennon-Ford, Levine, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams, Delano Williams.


100m: Asha Philip.

200m: Anyika Onuora, Jodie Williams.

400m: Christine Ohuruogu.

800m: Jessica Judd, Laura Muir, Marilyn Okoro.

1500m: Hannah England, Laura Weightman.

100mH: Tiffany Porter.

400mH: Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child, Perri Shakes-Drayton.

3000mSC: Eilish McColgan.

Long Jump: Shara Proctor, Lorraine Ugen.

Hammer: Sophie Hitchon.

Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis-Hill, Katarina Johnson-Thompson.

Marathon: Sonia Samuels, Susan Partridge.

4x100m: Philip, Hayley Jones, Annabelle Lewis, Ashleigh Nelson, Bianca Williams, Dina Asher-Smith, Williams.

4x400m: Margaret Adeoye, Child, Shana Cox, Kirsten McAslan, Kelly Massey, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu, Onuora, Shakes-Drayton.