MSU Women's Track & Field/Cross Country Ranked Ninth Nationally

MSU Women's Track & Field/Cross Country Ranked Ninth Nationally

Provided by MSU

EAST LANSING, Mich. - The Michigan State women's track & field/cross country team finished the 2012-13 season ranked ninth in the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I Program of the Year final standings. It is the highest standing for the program since the awards inaugural year in 2009.

The Spartans finished the 2013 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships with a total of 15 points to tie for 18th place overall, tying it's highest team finish since 1983. Highlighted by a NCAA runner-up finish by Beth Rohl in the weight throw, the team placed 25th overall in the indoor season. To kick off the stellar year, the women's cross country team finished 16th at the National Championships.

The USTFCCCA Program of the Year Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding cross country/track & field programs in each of the NCAA's three divisions and for each gender. The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year -- spanning the cross country, indoor track & field and outdoor track & field seasons -- based on the institution's finish at the NCAA Championships.

The Terry Crawford Women's Program of the Year Award is named after USTFCCCA Hall of Famer and former Cal Poly head coach Terry Crawford. Crawford has won five NCAA National Championships, and over 20 Conference Championships. Her 1986 Texas squad remains as the only NCAA women's program to ever win the Triple Crown (cross country, indoor track and field, and outdoor track and field titles).

In order to be eligible for the award teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships. Scoring is based on the team's finish at each NCAA Championship in cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field (i.e. 1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, 31st = 31 points) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

The University of Oregon, the host of the 2013 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships, have won the overall award for the past five years.