MSU - Jackson, Mueller Earn B1G Postgraduate Scholarships

MSU - Jackson, Mueller Earn B1G Postgraduate Scholarships

Provided by MSU

May 16, 2013

East Lansing, Mich. -- - The Big Ten Conference office announced its inaugural postgraduate scholarships recipients on Thursday, May 16, a list which includes Michigan State track & field standout Kevin Jackson (Detroit, Mich.) and women's soccer captain Jordan Mueller (Farmington Hills, Mich.) One male and one female student-athlete from each of the 12 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.

Complete List of Postgraduate Scholarship Winners

Mueller, a graduate of Mercy Catholic High School, was one of five Spartans to start in all 19 games in the 2012 season. A three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, Mueller appeared in 66 games in her four-year career, with a 3-8-14 scoring line. Mueller was an anchor in the midfield for head coach Tom Saxton; as a senior, she had the game winning goal against Fordham early in the season, and added three assists over the course of the season. In her four-year career, the Spartans appeared in the NCAA tournament in 2009 and compiled a record of 42-26-11. She plans to pursue her post-graduate degree in human resources.

Kevin Jackson

An Academic All-Big Ten selection and Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, redshirt senior Kevin Jackson is a two-time NCAA East preliminary round qualifier in the high jump. The Detroit, Mich., native was the recipient of the 2013 MSU Multicultural Award, served as the MSU Representative to the Big Ten SAAC and a 2011 NCAA Leadership Forum participant. As a public administration and public policy major, the three-time letter winner will graduate in May and is planning to attend Michigan State University College of Law in the fall.

This year's Big Ten 24 postgraduate scholarship recipients span 15 different sports, including four softball standouts, three student-athletes from football, women's soccer and women's swimming and diving teams, two men's gymnasts, and one recipient each from baseball, women's cross country, fencing, field hockey, men's golf, men's rowing, men's soccer, men's swimming and diving and men's and women's track and field.

The recipients will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including seven student-athletes who plan to enroll in medical schools and six honorees that will enter law schools. This year's honorees are also pursuing graduate degrees in diverse fields of study, including dentistry, economics, fine arts, human resources and labor relations, naval architecture and marine engineering, occupational therapy, pharmacy, physical therapy, sports management and veterinary medicine.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Student-athletes must have been in their final season of NCAA eligibility, maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.

The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student's postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.