U of M Women - DMR Wins 10th Straight Big Ten Indoor Title

U of M Women - DMR Wins 10th Straight Big Ten Indoor Title

Provided by U of M 

Site: SPIRE Institute (Geneva, Ohio)

Event: Big Ten Indoor Championships (Day 1)

U-M Team Result: 3rd Place of 11 Teams (31 points) After Day 1

Next U-M Event: Saturday, Feb. 23 -- at Big Ten Indoor Championships - Day 2 (Geneva, Ohio), 10 a.m. [ Live Results ]

GENEVA, Ohio -- The No. 20-ranked University of Michigan women's track and field team won its 10th straight distance medley relay title on the first day of the Big Ten Indoor Championships on Friday (Feb. 22) to help the Wolverines settle into third place after the first day of competition. The relay was one of four events where U-M scored points, while 11 student-athletes also qualified for the finals in their respective events and will compete again tomorrow (Saturday, Feb. 23) at the SPIRE Institute.

In the DMR, sophomore Shannon Osika (Waterford, Mich./Mott) ran the first 1,200-meter leg and handed the baton to senior/junior Meg Bellino (Monroe, Mich./Catholic Central) with a comfortable lead for the 400-meter leg. U-M, Minnesota and Ohio State were neck and neck at the second exchange, and senior Jillian Smith (Manahawkin, N.J./Southern Regional) settled into second place for the 800-meter leg. Smith made an aggressive move on the bell lap and took the lead before handing the baton to senior Rebecca Addison (Spring Lake, Mich./Grand Haven) for the final mile leg. Addison remained in the lead and crossed the line in a time of 11:11.41 to set a new Big Ten meet record and secure the crown for Michigan.

Senior/junior Kiley Tobel (Commerce Twp., Mich./Walled Lake Western) finished second in the pole vault with a height of 4.15 meters (13-7.25), while sophomore Victoria Wesley (Marine City, Mich./Marine City) cleared a height of 3.85m (12-7.50) to place sixth. Tobel (8) and Wesley (3) tallied a combined 11 points for the Wolverines.

Fifth-year senior Amanda Eccleston (Adrian, Mich./Tecumseh) recorded a runner-up performance in the seeded 3,000-meter run with a career-best time of 9:21.23 to score eight points.

In the long jump, fifth-year senior Tofunmi Akeredolu (Southfield, Mich./Lathrup) advanced to the finals, where she finished seventh with a mark of 5.81 meters (19-0.75).

In the mile run prelims, all four Michigan harriers ran their way into the finals. Eccleston (4:41.94), Osika (4:44.02) and sophomore Brook Handler (Rochester Hills, Mich./Rochester)(4:58.94) each won their heat to automatically qualify, while junior Megan Weschler (Wyandotte, Mich./Roosevelt) finished third in her heat with a time of 4:49.11 to secure the last qualifying spot.

Three events later, the Wolverines' four 800-meter runners each qualified for tomorrow's finals as well. In heat two, Addison and sophomore/freshman Devon Hoppe (Newport Beach, Calif./Corona Del Mar) finished 1-2 with times of 2:06.08 and 2:06.45, respectively, to solidify the automatic-qualifying spots. Freshman Danielle Pfeifer (Cincinnati, Ohio/McAuley), who finished just behind Hoppe in 2:06.63, as well as senior Jillian Smith (Manahawkin, N.J./Southern Regional), who took third in heat one, earned the final two qualifying spots. Hoppe and Pfeifer each clocked personal-best 800 meter times.

Junior Amber Smith (Cleveland, Ohio/Collinwood) and freshman Cindy Ofili (Ypsilanti, Mich./Huron) finished 1-2 in heat one of the 60-meter hurdle prelims in 8.30 and 8.34, respectively, to finish second and fourth overall. Smith's time was a new career best.

Ofili also qualified for the finals in the 60-meter dash after finishing first in her heat and third overall with a personal-best time of 7.47.

Action at the SPIRE Institute will begin tomorrow at 10 a.m., while Michigan's first event will commence at 11 a.m. with the women's high jump.

Team Standings (After Day One)

1. Nebraska 50

2. Wisconsin 32


4. Illinois 30

5. Minnesota 24

6. Indiana 19

6. Penn State 19

8. Purdue 10

8. Michigan State 10

10. Ohio State 9

Event Winners/U-M Finishers (Day One)


1. Jessica Flax, Wisconsin 4,078

12. Erin Busbee, U-M 3,189

Pentathlon - 60-meter Hurdles

1. Erin Busbee, U-M 8.43

1. Deanna Latham, Wisconsin 8.43

Pentathlon - High Jump

1. Marissa Golliday, Illinois 1.71m (5-7.25)

t6. Erin Busbee, U-M 1.59m (5-2.50)

Pentathlon - Shot Put

1. Courtney Woodard, Indiana 12.55m (41-2.25)

6. Erin Busbee, U-M 11.19m (36-8.50)

Pentathlon - Long Jump

1. Erin Busbee, U-M 5.92m (19-5.25)

Deanna Latham, Wisconsin 5.92m (19-5.25)

Pentathlon - 800-meter Run

1. Marissa Golliday, Illinois 2:15.20

-- Erin Busbee, U-M DNF

60-meter Dash (Prelims)

1. Morolake Akinosun, Illinois 7.34Q

3. Cindy Ofili, U-M 7.47Q

200-meter Dash (Prelilms)

1. Mahagony Jones, Penn State 23.47Q

11. Cindy Ofili, U-M 24.36

17. Charlotte Cahill, U-M 24.89

400-meter Dash (Prelims)

1. Ashley Spencer, Illinois 53.83Q

9. Maya Long, U-M 55.09

600-meter Run (Prelims)

1. Samantha Murphy, Illinois 1:28.87Q

14. Meg Bellino, U-M 1:31.93

20. Chelsey Miller, U-M 1:34.39

22. Chinyere Onimo, U-M 1:34.44

800-meter Run (Prelims)

1. Rebecca Addison, U-M 2:06.08Q

4. Devon Hoppe, U-M 2:06.45Q

7. Danielle Pfeifer, U-M 2:06.63q

8. Jillian Smith, U-M 2:07.78q

Mile Run (Prelims)

1. Amanda Eccleston, U-M 4:41.94Q

2. Shannon Osika, U-M 4:44.02Q

4. Brook Handler, U-M 4:58.94Q

10. Megan Weschler, U-M 4:49.11q

3,000-meter Run (unseeded)

1. Mareike Schrulle, Iowa 9:36.03

5. Alex Mathews, U-M 9:50.04

7. Laura Addison, U-M 9:56.40

8. Anna Pasternak, U-M 9:57.47

3,000-meter Run (seeded)

1. Jessica Furlan, Nebraska 9:19.66

2. Amanda Eccleston, U-M 9:21.23

60-meter Hurdles (Prelims)

1. Breeana Coleman, Illinois 8.20Q

2. Amber Smith, U-M 8.30Q

4. Cindy Ofili, U-M 8.34Q

Distance Medley Relay

1. MICHIGAN 11:11.41M

(Shannon Osika, Meg Bellino,

Rebecca Addison, Jillian Smith)

Pole Vault

1. Stephanie Richartz, Illinois 4.25m (13-11.25)

2. Kiley Tobel, U-M 4.15m (13-7.25)

6. Victoria Wesley, U-M 3.85m (12-7.50)

20. Claire Tewksbury, U-M 3.55m (11-7.75)

Long Jump

1. Mara Griva, Nebraska 6.32mS (20-9)

7. Tofunmi Akeredolu, U-M 5.81m (19-0.75)

Shot Put

1. Kyla Buckley, Indiana 16.90m (55-5.50)

13. Erin Pendleton, U-M 14.27m (46-10)

22. Elly Mioduszewski, U-M 12.85m (42-2)

24. Kari Prena, U-M 12.52m (41-1)

Q heat winner, qualified for finals

q qualified for the finals

M - Big Ten Meet Record

S - SPIRE Institute record


• Michigan won its 10th straight Big Ten distance medley relay title and 11th in the last 12 years, setting a new Big Ten meet record with a time of 11:11.41. It marks the fourth Big Ten DMR title for Jillian Smith and Rebecca Addison and the second for Shannon Osika. Osika, Addison and Smith were each members of the DMR that held the previous Big Ten meet record (11:11.54, 2011).


Erin Busbee -- 60m Hurdles (8.43, pentathlon)

Cindy Ofili -- 200m (24.36)

Maya Long -- 400m (55.09)

Devon Hoppe -- 800m (2:06.45)

Danielle Pfeifer -- 800m (2:06.48)

Alex Mathews -- 3,000m (9:50.04)

Laura Addison -- 3,000m (9:56.40)

Anna Pasternak -- 3,000m (9:57.47)

Amber Smith -- 60m Hurdles (8.30)

Erin Pendleton -- shot put (14.27m, 46-10)

Claire Tewksbury -- pole vault (3.55m, 11-7.75)

Elly Mioduszewski -- shot put (12.85m, 42-2)

Contact: Whitney Dixon