MSU - Cross Country Receives Most Ever All-Region Honors

MSU - Cross Country Receives Most Ever All-Region Honors

Provided by MSU

EAST LANISNG, Mich. - Eight members of the Michigan State cross country teams received All-Region honors, as announced by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) office on Monday, Nov. 12. The USTFCCCA recognized student-athletes of member schools that finished in the top-25 individually at one of the nine regional sites.

"Those honors are earned, so we knew when they got the awards at the meet," said director of cross country/track and field Walt Drenth. "They are well-deserved. We felt like we had a chance to have a number of people on the women's side, and frankly a number of people on the men's side earned those honors. It's just like the outcome of the race - it takes the athletes, discipline and will to earn those awards. They are not something that gets voted on; they are awards you have to run for. I'm proud of every one of them and really excited to get the NCAA Championships.""

On the men's side, redshirt sophomore Alex Wilson earned all-region recognition for the first time after leading the Spartans at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional meet on Nov. 9. Wilson posted a career-best time of 31:30, good for 17th place overall. Redshirt freshman Caleb Rhynard received his first all-region laurel as he placed 21st with a time of 31:40. Redshirt senior Josh McAlary earned his second all-region honor of his career with his 22nd-place finish in a time of 31.42. McAlary also earned all-region recognition in 2009 after he placed 20th at the regional meet.

For the women, junior Sara Kroll, redshirt sophomore Leah O'Connor, junior Julia Otwell, redshirt freshman Lindsey Clark and redshirt senior Olivia Sydow each earned all-region honors. Kroll finished third at the regional meet on Friday, tying her personal-best time of 20:12. Placing 12th at the regional meet, O'Connor ran in a time of 20:41. Otwell ran a season-best time of 20:49, good for 17th place. Clark was the fourth Spartan to finish in the race, placing 21st overall with a time of 20:53, while Sydow finished in 20:56 for 24th overall.

Louisville will host the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on Saturday, Nov. 17 at E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park. The women's race is slated to begin at 12 p.m. ET, followed by the men's at 1:15 p.m. ET.