Oakland University - Hutton Wins Summit League Championship, Oakland Teams Fourth

Oakland University - Hutton Wins Summit League Championship, Oakland Teams Fourth

Provided by Oakland University

ROCHESTER, Mich. -- Brittni Huttonwon The Summit League Championship on Saturday, as she paced the Oakland cross country team in the meet hosted at the Katke-Cousins Golf Course. The Golden Grizzlies finished fourth in the women's 6k race, while the men's team also placed fourth with 111 points in the 8k race.

"What a great day for Oakland Athletics!" said headcoach Paul Rice. "The home venue was great. The course was perfect and I owe a lot to my coaching staff for all the work they put in this past week."

Hutton finished in a time of 21:49 and won the race by more than eight seconds. She becomes just the second Oakland women's runner to win The Summit League title, joining Kristie Kieffer who won in 2000 and 2003. Her finish earned Hutton All-Summit League first team honors and she was also named 2012 Female Championship MVP.

"Obviously, a huge highlight is Brittni's victory," added Rice. "She ran a great race and really showed how strong she is and put on a great show for the home crowd. I am very happy with our team placement. We improved on last year on both sides and we just need to keep moving forward from here."

On the men's side, Pat Cassady led the way with a time of 26:02 and an 11th place finish. Cassady earned All-Summit League second time honors for his run. Oakland's Nathan Ziolkojust missed all-league honors after finishing 16th in a time of 26:26.

North Dakota State won the women's race with 36 points after putting all five runners in the top 15 of the race. South Dakota was second with 59 points followed by South Dakota State (63).

Lia Jones finished 19th overall and was second on the OU team with a time of 23:13. Jami Rodes came in 26th in 23:32. Miranda Haas was 35th in a time of 23:47, edging her teammate Sarah Orenwho went 23:48 and was 36th to round out the top five on the OU team.

South Dakota State's Michael Krsnak was the men's individual champion and led the Jackrabbits to the team championship with a score of 35 points. South Dakota was second with 62 points and IUPUI third with 104.

George O'Connor was 19th overall and third fastest on the Oakland team in a time of 26:37. The Golden Grizzlies' Michael Coxwas 31st in a time of 27:02 and Phillip Palomino rounded out the OU top five in time of 27:11 and placed 35th.

Other Oakland runners in the meet included: Autumn Cleverley (49th, 24:19), Hannah Scherer (52nd, 24:21), Cassandra Peterson (58th, 24:50), Leigh Bravender (63rd, 25:18) and Alex Katona(44th, 27:38).

"The next step is regionals and we now have 13 days to prepare for that," concluded Rice.

Both Oakland squads will return to action on Nov. 9 at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional in Madison, Wisc. hosted by Wisconsin Badgers.