Team USA wins men’s individual and women’s team title at World 24-Hour Run Championships

Team USA wins men’s individual and women’s team title at World 24-Hour Run Championships

Provided by USATF

INDIANAPOLIS – Mike Morton (Lithia, Fla.) and Connie Gardner (Medina, Ohio) both set American records at the IAU World 24-Hour Run Championships in Katowice, Poland, as Morton won the men’s title, and Gardner’s second place finish led the women to the team title on September 9.

Morton won by nearly ten miles after leading throughout the race. Morton covered 172.457 miles to better Scott Jurek’s American record from 2010 by nearly seven miles. Florian Reus of Germany and Ludovic Dilmi of France finished second and third respectively.

Gardner found herself running in second place for most of the race behind Great Britain’s Emily Gelder. With only four hours remaining, Gelder faded to third and Michaela Dimitridau of the Czech Republic moved into the lead, but Gardner maintained her position to finish as the runner up. Gardner covered 149.368 miles to improve the American record set earlier this year by Sabrina Moran by a mile and a half.

Team USA’s women won the team title when the marks of the top three women, Gardner, Suzanna Bon and Anne Lundblad, were combined. Team USA won with a margin of more than 17 miles ahead of France and Great Britain. The top three Team USA men, Morton, Harvey Lewis and Joe Fejes, finished third behind Germany and France.

Team USA Results

Men's Individual

1. Mike Morton, Lithia, Fla., 172.457 miles

22. Harvey Lewis, Cincinnati, Ohio, 148.958 miles

27. Joe Fejes, Hoschton, Ga., 147.586 miles

84. Philip McCarthy, New York, N.Y. , 128.780 miles

146. Serge Arbona, Parkerville, Md., 113.089 miles

166. Jonathan Savage, Charlotte, N.C., 106.254 miles

Men's Team

1. Germany, 471.904 miles

2. France, 470.198 miles

3. USA, 469.002 miles (Morton, Lewis, Fejes)

Women's Individual

2. Connie Gardner, Medina, Ohio, 149.368 miles

5. Suzanna Bon, Sonoma, Calif., 143.583 miles

9. Anne Lundblad, Swannanoa, N.C., 138.665 miles

22. Lana Hauberk, Brooklyn Park, Minn., 129.846 miles

55. Deb Horn, Shaker Heights, Ohio, 111.225 miles

244. Carilyn Johnson, El Paso, Texas, 33.591 miles

Women's Team

1. USA 431.617 miles (Gardner, Bon, Lundblad)

2. France, 414.145 miles

3. Great Britain, 414.119 miles

Full results are available at: