Katowice to host IAU 24 Hour World champs this weekend

Katowice to host IAU 24 Hour World champs this weekend

Provided by IAAF

The 9th IAU 24 Hour World & European Championship takes place on 8-9 September in Katowice, Poland. World champions from 2010 Shingo Inoue from Japan and Anne Cecile Fontaine of France will be defending their titles.

The 9th edition of this very popular event on the IAU calendar is taking place in Katowice, the largest city of the Upper Silesian industrial region, is located in southern Poland and has a population of approximately 320,000.

Inoue is the defending champion and will be running in Poland. At the last edition of the championships Inoue established an Asian Best performance with a distance of 273.708km. Ivan Cudin (ITA) bronze medalist from 2010 is the second best ranked athlete in the field with 263.841km. Jean Marc Bordus (FRA) completes the top 3 ranking running 260.147km in 2010.

In the women’s event, current 48 Hour World’s Best Performance holder Mami Kudo (JPN) is in the field leading the athletes with a performance of 255.303km. Last edition’s winner Anne Cecile Fontaine is going for a three-peat entering with 243.644 km. She is followed by Michaela Dimitriadu (CZE) with a distance of 234.75km.

There are a record 269 athletes (160 men and 109 women), representing 35 countries, who are taking part in this year’s edition of the event. In addition, Katowice will see over 150 officials supporting these athletes. These numbers will be completed by hundreds of volunteers who will complement the athletes and officials during their stay in Katowice.

The course that the race is being organized on is a 1554m looped route in Park Slaski in Chorzow very close to the Katowice City Center. The course is relatively flat with a couple of rolling hills.

There will be a section on the course designated for refreshments stand put up by the support crew of respective countries where athletes will be able to make stops and pick-up supplies.

The race promises to be an exciting one with an exceptionally high caliber of athletes assembled at these championships.

Live Updates on the championships will be carried on the IAU website (www.iau-ultramarathon.org) and twitter (@iaunews).

Top Athletes in the competition (based on 2010-2012 performances) -


1) Shingo Inoue JPN 273.08 km

2) Ivan Cudin ITA 263.84 km

3) Jean Marc Bordus FRA 260.15 km

4) Florian Reus GER 255.37 km

5) Emmanuelle Fontaine FRA 254.76 km


1) Mami Kudo JPN 255.30 km

2) Anne Ceclie Fontaine FRA 243.64 km

3) Michaela Dimitriadu CZE 234.75 km

4) Connie Gardner USA 232.90 km

5) Monica Casiraghi ITA 229.17 km

Nadeem Khan (IAU) for the IAAF