EMU Men - Eight Eagles Earn Academic All-MAC Bids

EMU Men - Eight Eagles Earn Academic All-MAC Bids

Provided by EMU

The Eastern Michigan University men's track and field team had eight members of its squad earn an Academic All-MAC award, while six student-athletes earned honorable mention honors. Max Babits, Cody Chabola, Harry Dixon, Terefe Ejigu, Joshua George, Grzegorz Kalinowski, Daryl Smith and Joe Tesner each were named to the Academic All-MAC team.

Babits, a mechanical engineering technology major boasting a 3.23 grade point average, took first in a pair of events this season, including at the Toledo Collegiate Challenge and at the Hillsdale “Gina” Relays when he leapt 16-feet and 6.75-inches, a season-best. The sophomore took third at the 2012 Outdoor MAC Championships.

Chabola, who holds a 3.91 GPA as an exercise scienece major, had three top-five finishes in the 3,000-meter steeplechase, including a season-best of 9:41.95, which earned him second place honors at the 2012 Jesse Owens Classic. He placed ninth in the steeplechase at the 2012 Outdoor MAC Championships.

Dixon holds a 4.00 grade point as a biology major. He had a pair of second-place finishes this season, including his 31:14.24 finish in the 10,000-meter run at the 2012 Outdoor MAC Championships, to earn him an All-MAC second team nod.

Ejigu has a 3.50 GPA as an international studies major. He was was named the 2012 Outdoor MAC Championships' Most Valuable Performer after winning both the 5,000-meter run and 10,000-meter run, also earning him first team All-MAC accolades. The Wellington, New Zealand native also won the 800-meter run at the 2012 Spartan Invitational held by Michigan State University. He finished in the top-five in all but one race this season.

Geroge is a biology major boasting a 3.53 GPA. He took the crown in the 800-meter run at the 2012 Outdoor MAC Championships by completing the distance in 1:51.68, earning first team All-MAC honors. He placed in the top-five of seven different races this outdoor season while winning two.

Kalinowski, a marketing major with a 3.70 grade point average, placed second at the 2012 Outdoor MAC Championships in the 1,500-meter run with a 3:50.26, to put him on the All-MAC second team. He finished in the top-10 in all but one race this season, including a fourth place finish at the Jesse Owens Relays in the 800-meter run with a 1:51.92 finish.

Smith is a biology major holding a 3.62 grade point average. He placed second in the 3,000-meter steeplechase in 9:15.87 at the 2012 Outdoor MAC Championships, earning him second team All-MAC honors. The redshirt-freshman also won the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the Jesse Owens Invitational with a season-best 9:07.37.

Tesner is a technology studies major with a 3.80 GPA who finished in the top-five of each competition he took part in during the outdoor campaign, including three second place finishes. His best leap came when he took second at the 2012 Len Paddock Invitational with a 16-feet and 7.50-inches jump. He took fourth at the 2012 Outdoor MAC Championships.

Ian Hancke, Austin Hendrix, Andrew Meyer, David Papenhagen and Nick Petro were each Academic All-MAC honorable mention selections.

2012 Men's Track and Field Academic All-MAC

Max Babits, Eastern Michigan

Cody Chabola, Eastern Michigan

Harry Dixon, Eastern Michigan

Terefe Ejigu, Eastern Michigan

Joshua George, Eastern Michigan

Grzegorz Kalinowski, Eastern Michigan

Daryl Smith, Eastern Michigan

Joe Tesner, Eastern Michigan

Eric Hubbard, Akron

Brian Archie, Buffalo

Andre Britton, Buffalo

Dylan Conway, Buffalo

John Inzina, Buffalo

David Ashcraft, Central Michigan

Josh Kettlewell, Central Michigan

Ethan Lievense, Central Michigan

Cory Noeker, Central Michigan

Kyle Smith, Central Michigan

Aaron Crabtree, Kent State

Brian Florek, Kent State

Destin Heasley, Kent State

Andrew Linebarger, Kent State

Brian Gallagher, Miami

Jordan Goffena, Miami

Matt Marol, Miami

Rob Stein, Miami

Honorable Mention

Ian Hancke, Eastern Michigan

Austin Hendrix, Eastern Michigan

Andrew Meyer, Eastern Michigan

David Papenhagen, Eastern Michigan

Nick Petro, Eastern Michigan

Zach Ahart, Buffalo

Doug Hannon, Buffalo

Jacob Sunday, Buffalo

Greg Knaus, Central Michigan

Matt Lutzke, Central Michigan

Ross Parsons, Central Michigan

Brandon Piligian, Central Michigan

Tim Reynolds, Central Michigan

Bo Crabtree, Kent State

Andrew Goodwin, Kent State

Ryan Thomas, Kent State

Marcus Vicars, Kent State

Robert Balzano, Miami

Wade Coffin, Miami

Daniel Garleb, Miami

Jack Spilman, Miami

Sam Wildeman, Miami