WMU - 4x400 Squad and Campbell Set for NCAA Outdoor Championships

WMU - 4x400 Squad and Campbell Set for NCAA Outdoor Championships

Provided by WMU

KALAMAZOO -- Western Michigan track and field's Iris Campbell, Victoria Chatman, Andrea Arnold and Leya Munwam head to Drake University to represent WMU at the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships beginning on Wednesday.

Campbell is the lone Bronco to compete individually, as the junior competes in the semi finals of the 400 meter hurdles on Wednesday night at 9:30 p.m. EDT. Campbell qualified after finishing in ninth place in the NCAA East Preliminary Quarterfinals two weeks ago in Jacksonville, Fla. The Emmett, Mich., native holds the 20th fastest qualifying time at 58.09. She has ran personal-best times in Jacksonville to advance to Des Moines.

To advance to the finals Campbell has to be either in the top of her heat or finish with the next two best times after the six automatic qualifiers. Should she move on she would nearly be guaranteed as WMU's 10th All-American as long as she finished her race in the finals. This is the second trip to the NCAA Outdoor Championships for Campbell, who also competed in the 400 hurdles last season but missed out on qualifying for the finals.

Campbell is also a key cog in WMU's 4x400 meter relay team, along with Chatman, Arnold and Munwam. Two weeks ago at the NCAA East Preliminary the four combined for a time of 3:35.09, the seventh fastest in the region. Their time slots them with the 15th fastest time heading into Thursday night's 9:25 p.m. race. To advance the team must finish either first or second in their heat or with the next two fastest times outside of the top six qualifiers.

The Broncos have never had a relay team make it ot the finals at the NCAA Outdoor Championships. Freshman Lindsey Hufnagel is also traveling with the team as an alternate for the relay. She was a part of WMU's indoor 4x400 team that ran the 17th fastest time in the nation head of the likes of Stanford, South Carolina, USC, Arizona State, Mississippi, Baylor, TCU and Mississippi State in the top 25.

Events can be viewed live via web stream at www.ncaa.com.