U of M Men - Nine Wolverines, 4x4 Relay Team Earn Trip to NCAA East Prelims

U of M Men - Nine Wolverines, 4x4 Relay Team Earn Trip to NCAA East Prelims

Provided by U of M

May 17, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The University of Michigan men's track and field team will send nine individuals and the 4x400-meter relay to the NCAA Division I East Preliminary Rounds, the NCAA announced today (Thursday, May 17). The meet will be held Thursday through Saturday, May 24-26, at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, Fla.

The top 48 athletes in both the East and West regions in each event (in descending order) qualified for the meet. The athletes will participate in two rounds (first round and quarterfinals) during the preliminary round. Twelve competitors from each individual event and 12 teams from each relay event will advance from each preliminary championship competition to the NCAA Championships. This year's national meet will be held June 6-9 at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa.

Michigan's qualifiers, with event, seed and time/mark:

Ali Arastu -- 400m Hurdles (1st, 49.43)
Brad Bolton -- Hammer Throw (28th, 60.25m)
Ethan Dennis -- Hammer Throw (16th, 62.75m)
Craig Forys -- 3,000m Steeplechase (1st, 8:28.90); 5,000m (15th, 13:52.14)
Jack Greenlee -- Pole Vault (18th, 5.26m)
Zach Ornelas -- 3,000m Steeplechase (32nd, 8:59.57)
Morsi Rayyan -- 10,000m (37th, 29:43.44)
Herman Washington -- 110m Hurdles (37th, 14.12)
Philip Washington -- 400m (40th, 47.17)
4x400m Relay (7th, 3:06.27)

This will mark the second consecutive trip to the regional meet for fifth-year senior Craig Forys (Howell, N.J./Colts Neck), sophomore Ali Arastu (Northville, Mich./Northville), sophomore Herman Washington (Blacklick, Ohio/Gahanna Lincoln), junior Jack Greenlee (Cincinnati, Ohio/St. Xavier) and junior/sophomore Ethan Dennis (Grand Rapids, Mich./Grandville). Arastu, senior/junior Matthew Campbell (Rochester, Mich./Rochester) and senior Nick Neuman (Mokena, Ill./Lincoln-Way East) will represent U-M in the 4x400-meter relay for the second year in a row.

Complete Entry List

Contact: Whitney Dixon