Ide Recognized by Big Ten Conference for Sportsmanship Award

Ide Recognized by Big Ten Conference for Sportsmanship Award

Provided by MSU

CHICAGO, ILL. - Redshirt Senior thrower Aaron Ide (Byron Center, Mich./Byron Center) has been recognized by the Big Ten Conference as a candidate for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Last season, Ide was a U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Honoree, a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, Academic All-Big Ten, and a NCAA East Preliminary Round Qualifier in the shot put. In 2010, Ide was Academic All-Big Ten.

The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

In addition to Ide, honorees for men's indoor track and field are, Illinois' Kyle Engnell, Indiana's Ryan Hindes, Iowa's Keaton Rickles, Michigan's Matt Campbell, Minnesota's Quentin Mege, Nebraska's Chris Phipps, Ohio State's Max Mays, Penn State's Nabil Mubarak, Purdue's Josh Lee and Wisconsin's Japheth Cato.

The conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.