Oakland Track Teams Take Eighth at Summit League Indoor Championships

Oakland Track Teams Take Eighth at Summit League Indoor Championships

Provided by Oakland University

FORT WAYNE, Ind.-- Micah Jones led all Oakland athletes by 10 points at The Summit League Indoor Championships, as the Oakland men's and women's track teams both finished eighth when the meet concluded on Saturday at the IPFW Athletics Center. The OU women's team finished with 14 points, while the men's team scored nine.

Jones followed up her second place finish in the long jump on Friday with a sixth place finish in the high jump on Saturday. She cleared the 1.57 meter standard on her first attempt and finished in a three-way tie that shared two points each for the event.

The OU men's team scored seven points on Saturday, led by Niklas Rippon's fifth place finish in the 60 meter hurdle finals. Rippon went a time of 8.4 to earn the four points for Oakland with a time just off his school-record pace of 8.27.

OU also took four points from the women's 60m hurdles, but with a combined effort. OU'sBreanna Peabody scored three points for her sixth place finish with a time of 8.93, while Serena San Cartier took a point with her eighth place finish in 9.03.

The Oakland women finished ahead of IPFW, which scored four points and placed ninth. North Dakota State won the women's championship with 206 points, followed by South Dakota with 115 and Southern Utah with 80.

Southern Utah won the men's championship with a score of 142 to finish ahead of Oral Roberts at 118. NDSU came in third with 104. Only eight teams competed in the men's championship.

In the men's 4 x 400 meter relay, Derrek WilliamsKyle WilsonAlex Katona and Britt Spencer scored two points with a third place finish in their section after NDSU was disqualified, bumping each team up the list.




Ryan Balzer finished eighth in the men's heptathlon event. Balzer posted a big score in the high jump to earn a cumulative score of 4126 points, breaking his own school record as he held off Beauregard Gagnon of NDSU who came in ninth with 4112 points.

In the women's shot put Katelynne Hartman smashed her previous school record in the event with a throw of 39-08.00. Her previous best had been 38-1.50. Nathan Ziolko also just missed a school top five time in the men's 5000 meters with a time of 15:12.27.

This was the final indoor meet for the Golden Grizzlies before the start of the outdoor season.

Women's Awards

Newcomer of the Meet: Analisa Huschle (USD)
Coach of the Year: Ryan Godfrey (NDSU)
Field Championship MVP: Lora Sheaer (SDSU)
Female Championship MVP: Diana Medina (SUU)
Men's Awards

Newcomer of the Meet: Austin West (SUU)
Coach of the Year: Eric Houle (SUU)
Field Championship MVP: Jared Vlastuin (SDSU)
Male Track Championship MVP: Cameron Lewis (SUU

Women's Final Results

1. North Dakota State  206
2. South Dakota  115
3. Southern Utah  80
4. South Dakota State  76
5. UMKC  63
6. Oral Roberts  53
7. Western Illinois  52
8. Oakland  14

Men's Final Results

1. Southern Utah  142
2. Oral Roberts  118
3. North Dakota State  104
4. South Dakota  89
5. South Dakota State  83
6. UMKC  75
7. Western Illinois  41
8. Oakland  9