U of M Women - DMR Clinches Ninth Straight Title on Day One of Big Ten Indoors

U of M Women - DMR Clinches Ninth Straight Title on Day One of Big Ten Indoors

Provided by U of M

Site: Devaney Center Indoor Track (Lincoln, Neb.)

Event: Big Ten Indoor Championships (Day 1 of 2)

U-M Team Standing: Tie-3rd of 11 teams (24.0) after Day 1

Next U-M Event: Saturday, Feb. 25 -- at Big Ten Indoor Championships - Day Two (Lincoln, Neb.), 10 a.m. CST

LINCOLN, Neb. -- The University of Michigan women's track and field team built upon its Big Ten-record ninth consecutive distance medley relay title on day one of the Big Ten Indoor Championships on Friday (Feb. 24) at Nebraska's Devaney Center. Michigan earned a total of 24.0 points on the first day of competition and is sitting in a tie for third heading into the final day tomorrow (Saturday, Feb. 25).

With 45.5 points, host Nebraska is leading the pack of 11 Big Ten teams after the first day.

Michigan's distance medley relay, which won the title with time of 11:11.54, was comprised of freshman Shannon Osika (Waterford, Mich./Mott) in the 1,200-meter, senior Brittani Williams (Detroit, Mich./Jackson) running the 400-meter dash, junior Jillian Smith (Manahawkin, N.J./Southern Regional) in the 800-meter run and junior Rebecca Addison (Spring Lake, Mich./Grand Haven) running the final mile.

Earlier in the day, Osika finished sixth in the prelims of the mile run with a time of 4:49.38 to qualify for tomorrow's finals. Smith and Addison also advanced to tomorrow's competition, placing second (2:08.94) and fourth (2:07.59), respectively, in the 800-meter run. Addison won the third heat to guarantee a spot in tomorrow's finals. Freshman Brook Handler's (Rochester Hills, Mich./Rochester) time of 2:09.67 was also good enough to send her to tomorrow's finals.

Also qualifying for tomorrow's finals was sophomore Amber Smith (Cleveland, Ohio/Collinwood), who placed seventh in the 60-meter hurdle prelims with a personal-best time of 8.43.

Four Wolverines scored points for Michigan in the field on day one. Junior/sophomore Kiley Tobel (Commerce Twp., Mich./Walled Lake Western) finished fourth in the pole vault, clearing a height of 4.08 meters (13-4.50). In the long jump, senior/junior Tofunmi Akeredolu (Southfield, Mich./Lathrup) took sixth with a leap of 5.87 meters (19-3.25).

In the throwing circle, fifth-year seniors Allison Liske (Zeeland, Mich./Zeeland East) and Emily Pendleton (Lindsey, Ohio/Woodmore) took fourth and eighth, respectively, in the shot put. Liske's throw of 15.82 meters (51-11.00) picked up five points for U-M, while Pendleton's first throw of the competition of 15.24 meters (50-0.00) proved to be her best and earned one point.

The Wolverines will be back in action tomorrow (Saturday, Feb. 25) at the Devaney Center Indoor Track for the final day of the Big Ten Indoor Championships. Field events will begin at 11 a.m. CST, with running events commencing at 12:30 p.m. CT.

Team Standings (After Day One)

1. Nebraska 45.50

2. Wisconsin 35


Penn State 24

Indiana 24

6. Purdue 21

7. Illinois 19

8. Michigan State 18.50

9. Ohio State 13

10. Iowa 9

11. Minnesota 1

Event Winners/U-M Finishers (Day One)

Pentathlon Standings (Through Five Events)

1. Dorcan Akinniyi, Wisconsin 4,072

17. Taylor Moore-Willis, U-M 2,454

Pentathlon - 60-meter hurdles

1. Jordan Stiens, Nebraska 8.56

13. Taylor Moore-Willis, U-M 9.15

Pentathlon - High Jump

1. Dorcan Akinniyi, Wisconsin 1.79m (5-10.50)

15. Taylor Moore-Willis, U-M 1.49m (4-10.50)

Pentathlon - Shot Put

1. Dorcan Akinniyi, Wisconsin 13.03m (42-9.00)

16. Taylor Moore-Willis, U-M 9.36m (30-8.50)

Pentathlon - Long Jump

1. Brittney Howell, Penn State 5.66m (18-6.75)

18. Taylor Moore-Willis, U-M 4.69m (15-4.25)

Pentathlon - 800-meter Run

1. Marissa Golliday, Illinois 2:17.97

-- Taylor Moore-Willis, U-M DNF

Pole Vault

1. Breanna Bussel, Nebraska 4.23m (13-10.50)

4. Kiley Tobel, U-M 4.08m (13-4.50)

10. Victoria Wesley, U-M 3.73m (12-2.75)

Shot Put

1. Monique Riddick, Indiana 16.46m (54-0.00)

4. Allison Liske, U-M 15.82m (51-11.00)

8. Emily Pendleton, U-M 15.24m (50-0.00)

22. Erin Pendleton, U-M 14.08m (46-2.50)

25. Kari Prena, U-M 12.54m (41-1.75)

Long Jump

1. Leah Eber, Purdue 6.42m (21-0.75)

6. Tofunmi Akeredolu, U-M 5.87m (19-3.25)

13. Erin Busbee, U-M 5.65m (18-6.50)

3,000-meter Run

1. Ashley Miller, Nebraska 9:17.28

13. Ellen Junewick, U-M 9:41.97

21. Alex Leptich, U-M 9:54.97

25. Alex Mathews, U-M 9:57.96

31. Alicia Patterson, U-M 10:25.85

Mile Run (Prelims)

Top two in both heats plus next five fastest times to finals

1. Ashley Miller, Nebraska 4:43.75Q

6. Shannon Osika, U-M 4:49.38q

14. Michaela Carnegie, U-M 4:54.68

18. Chloe Prince, U-M 5:04.89

400-meter Dash (Prelims)

Eight heat winners plus next fastest time to finals

1. Ashley Spencer, Illinois 54.18Q

28. Shelby Hines, U-M 58.55

60-meter Dash (Prelims)

Three heat winners plus next five fastest times to finals

1. Chesna Syker, Ohio State 7.36Q

18. Charlotte Cahill, U-M 7.73

800-meter Run (Prelims)

Three heat winners plus next six fastest times to finals

1. Jessica Furlan, Nebraska 2:07.10Q

2. Rebecca Addison, U-M 2:08.94Q

4. Jillian Smith, U-M 2:07.59q

5. Brook Handler, U-M 2:09.67q

23. Chelsey Miller, U-M 2:20.50

60-meter Hurdles (Prelims)

Two two in both heats plus next four fastest times to finals

1. Christina Manning, Ohio State 7.97Q

7. Amber Smith, U-M 8.43q

600-meter Dash (Prelims)

Six heat winners plus next three fastest times to finals

1. Shaniqua McGinnis, Ohio State 1:29.37Q

10. Alexandria Williams, U-M 1:32.92

12. Brittani Williams, U-M 1:33.12

17. Meg Bellino, U-M 1:34.80

20. Chinyere Onimo, U-M 1:36.85

200-meter Dash (Prelims)

Nine fastest times to finals

1. Christina Manning, Ohio State 23.71q

15. Charlotte Cahill, U-M 24.63

Distance Medley Relay

1. MICHIGAN 'A' 11:11.54

(Shannon Osika, Brittani Williams,

Jillian Smith, Rebecca Addison)

Q heat winner, qualified for finals q qualified for the finals


Personal Records

Taylor Moore-Willis -- 60m Hurdles (9.15)

Alex Mathews -- 3,000m (9:57.96)

Brook Handler -- 800m (2:09.67)

Kari Prena -- Shot Put (12.54m, 41-1.75)

Amber Smith -- 60m Hurdles (8.43)

Charlotte Cahill -- 60m (24.63)

Meg Bellino -- 600m (1:34.80)

Michaela Carnegie -- Mile (4:54.63)

Ellen Junewick -- 3,000m (4:41.97)

• Michigan won its ninth straight Big Ten distance medley relay title and 10th in the last 11 years. Jillian Smith and Rebecca Addison were also a part of the last two Big Ten DMR championship squads (2010, '11). The squad broke the Big Ten meet record of 11:16.65 set in 2009 by former Wolverines Danielle Tauro, Jennifer Neville, Kelly Sampson and Geena Gall.

• Jillian Smith is a two-time defending Big Ten champion in the 800-meter run, while Addison won the mile run at last year's conference championships. Both will compete in the finals of the 800-meter run tomorrow at 2:40 p.m. CT.