Twambe clocks 2:07:30 course record in Tiberias

Twambe clocks 2:07:30 course record in Tiberias

Provided by IAAF

Patrick Twambe of France set a new course record of 2:07:30 at the 35th edition of the Tiberias Marathon on Thursday (12). In all four athletes dipped under 2:08 while numerous others clocked personal bests along the course that follows the shoreline of the Sea of Galilee.

Twambe got his revenge from his second place finish in 2011 when he lost the race in the last 500 metros. This year, in addition to his victory and course record, he also clocked the French standard for this summer's Olympic Games in London.

"For me it is a historical Marathon, it was sweet revenge after I finished second last year," said Twambe who knocked 1:26 from his previous career best.

Francis Kibiwott from Kenya finished second just two seconds behind Twambe with 2:07:32, also a PB. Blacha Kebede from Ethiopia was third in 2:07:35, a personal best as well.

Zohar Zimro won the Israeli championships title, finishing 15th in 2:15:06.

Tinbit Weldegebrie from Ethiopia won the women's race in 2:40:08, followed by Hirut Beyene Guangul 21 seconds later. Worknesh Shashe Oda was third in 2:40:44 to complete the all Ethiopian podium.

Organisers for the IAAF

Leading Results:

Men -

1. Patrick Twambe (France) 2:07:30 (PB).

2. Francis Kibiwott (Kenya) 2:07:32 (PB).

3. BlachaTerefi Kebede (Ethiopia) 2:07:35 (PB)

4. Gemechu Worku Biru (Ethiopia) 3:07:43 (PB).

5. Gidena Gebremedhir Mirach (Ethiopia) 2:08:28 (PB).

6. Joel Kipsang Kositany (Kenya) 2:09:50 (PB).

7. Dereja Yadete Worldegiyogis (Ethiopia) 2:09:51 (PB).

8. Issack Kipkemoi Kosgei (Kenya) 2:09:56 (PB).

9. Kimutai Cheruiyot (Kenya) 2:11:30 (PB).

10. Julius Muriuki Wahome (Kenya) 2:11:49.

11. Feyera Gemechu Dady (Ethiopia) 2:12:00 (PB).

12. Kibane Gemchu Abdi (Ethiopia) 2:12:58 (PB).

13. Sumbei Fredrick Kipchumba (Kenya) 2:13:10 (PB).

14. Ketema Bekele Negasa (Ethiopia) 2:14:58 (PB).

15. Zohar Zimro (Israel) 2:15:06.

Women -

1. Tinbit Gidey Weldegebriel (Ethiopia) 2:40:08 (PB).

2. Hirut Beyene Guangul (Ethiopia) 2:40:28.

3. Worknesh Shashe Oda (Ethiopia) 2:40:44 (PB).

4. Habtamnesh Gashaw Mencho (Ethiopia) 2:47:42.

5. Kiprono Emmah Jepkogei (Kenya) 2:47:49 (PB).

6. Rose Matebo (Kenya) 2:51:20.

7. Svetlana Bachmand (Israel) 2:54:00.