Haebe named USATF Athlete of the Week

Haebe named USATF Athlete of the Week

Provided by USATF

INDIANAPOLIS - Ryan Haebe (Evergreen, Colo.) has been named USA Track & Field’s Athlete of the Week after winning the NCAA Division II Cross Country Championships in Spokane, Wash.

Haebe won the individual title by covering the snowy 10 km course in a time of 30:45 to lead his team of Western State to win the team title. Haebe crossed the line three seconds ahead of his teammate Tyler Pennel, who took the runner-up spot. Haebe, a sophomore, became only the second student-athlete in Western State history to win a men’s cross country national title.

The Mountaineers of Western State dominated the team competition with a score of 27 points by placing all five of their scoring runners in the top 13 of the overall results. Adams State took second with 69 points.

Now in its tenth year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on www.usatf.org. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

Winners: January 5, Bill Tribou; January 12, Tyler Sorensen; January 20, Josh Cox; January 26,Ben Shorey; February 2, Ashton Eaton; February 9, Ashton Eaton; February 16, Bernard Lagat; February 23, Ryan Crouser; March 2, Jillian Camarena-Williams; March 10, Bill Collins; March 16, Miles Batty; March 23, Shalane Flanagan; March 30, John Nunn; April 6, Aries Merritt; April 13, Gunnar Nixon; April 20, Desiree Davila; April 27, Nolan Shaheed; May 4, Emma Coburn; May 11, Willie Gault; May 18, English Gardner; May 25, Kibwé Johnson; June 1, Khadevis Robinson; June 8, Carmelita Jeter; June 15, Lukas Verzbicas; June 22, Aisling Cuffe; June 29, Trevor Barron; July 6, Aldrich Bailey; July 13, Jillian Camarena-Williams; July 20, Johnnye Valien; July 27, Bernard Lagat; August 3, Marcus Krah; August 9, Leo Manzano; August 17, Magdalena Lewy Boulet; August 24, Brigetta Barrett; September 7, LaShinda Demus; September 14, Kasie Enman; September 21, Galen Rupp; September 28, Max King; October 5, Kathryn Martin; October 13, William Boland; October 19, Janet Cherobon-Bawcom; October 26, Michael Wardian; November 2 Sara Hall; November 9, Meb Keflezighi; November 16, Shalane Flanagan; November 23, Ryan Haebe