Flanagan named USATF Athlete of the Week

Flanagan named USATF Athlete of the Week

Provided by USATF

NDIANAPOLIS - Shalane Flanagan (Portland, Ore.) has been named USA Track & Field’s Athlete of the Week after winning and setting a course record at the Rock ‘n’ Roll San Antonio Half Marathon.

© Victah Sailer, PhotoRun  

Flanagan covered the 13.1 mile distance in 1:10:49 to win the race with nearly a three minute margin over runner-up Tera Moody to clock the fastest half marathon time by an American woman this year. Flanagan bested the previous course record established in 2010 of 1:12:14 by Molly Pritz.

Flanagan used the race as a tune-up for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Team Trials - Marathon on Jan. 14 in Houston. Flanagan will enter the trials with the sixth fastest marathon time (2:28:44) and the fastest half marathon time (1:08:37) of the field.

Now in its tenth year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on www.usatf.org. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

Winners: January 5, Bill Tribou; January 12, Tyler Sorensen; January 20, Josh Cox; January 26,Ben Shorey; February 2, Ashton Eaton; February 9, Ashton Eaton; February 16, Bernard Lagat; February 23, Ryan Crouser; March 2, Jillian Camarena-Williams; March 10, Bill Collins; March 16, Miles Batty; March 23, Shalane Flanagan; March 30, John Nunn; April 6, Aries Merritt; April 13, Gunnar Nixon; April 20, Desiree Davila; April 27, Nolan Shaheed; May 4, Emma Coburn; May 11, Willie Gault; May 18, English Gardner; May 25, Kibwé Johnson; June 1, Khadevis Robinson; June 8, Carmelita Jeter; June 15, Lukas Verzbicas; June 22, Aisling Cuffe; June 29, Trevor Barron; July 6, Aldrich Bailey; July 13, Jillian Camarena-Williams; July 20, Johnnye Valien; July 27, Bernard Lagat; August 3, Marcus Krah; August 9, Leo Manzano; August 17, Magdalena Lewy Boulet; August 24, Brigetta Barrett; September 7, LaShinda Demus; September 14, Kasie Enman; September 21, Galen Rupp; September 28, Max King; October 5, Kathryn Martin; October 13, William Boland; October 19, Janet Cherobon-Bawcom; October 26, Michael Wardian; November 2 Sara Hall; November 9, Meb Keflezighi; November 16, Shalane Flanagan