Aquinas Sweeps Cross Country

Aquinas Sweeps Cross Country

Provided by WHAC

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. - Aquinas won both the men's and women's Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) cross country championships with wins at the conference meet hosted by Davenport. AQ head coach Mike Wojciakowski was named Coach of the Year for both genders. All-Conference, All-Academic, and Champions of Character Teams were also announced at the meet.

Devin Lea of Aquinas won the 8K individual race for the men in a time of 24:57.8. The senior led a trio of Aquinas runners in the top five spots. Dustin Heiler finished in third place (25:24.4) and Nick Thelen crossed in fifth place with a time of 15:44.1. Siena Heights took the remaining two spots - Jesiah Rodriquez was second (25:04.5) and David Weeks was fourth (25:31.2). Louis Falland of Cornerstone was sixth and Mike Gravelyn of Aquinas was seventh to round out first team All-Conference members. Places 8-14 were named second team All-Conference.

Men's Teams Scores

1. Aquinas (25 pts)

2. Siena Heights (49 pts)

3. Cornerstone (57 pts)

4. Davenport (116 pts)

5. Indiana Tech (144 pts)

6. Madonna (160 pts )

7. Michigan-Dearborn (197 pts)

8. Concordia (229 pts)


A pair of freshman took top honors in the women's 5K. Bianca Kubicki of Madonna stole the individual race with a time of 18:37.30 to automatically qualify for the NAIA Cross Country National Championships and Aquinas freshman Catie Rietsema finished second in a time of 18:43.2. It was Kubicki's fastest time of the year. In addition to Rietsema, Aquinas placed two others in the top seven finishers in Alina Dhaseleer at fourth and Carly Plank in seventh. Other All-Conference First Team members include third-place runner Beth Heldmyer and fifth-place Lyndsay Payne of Siena Heights, and Julie Oosterhouse of Cornerstone. Places 8-14 were named to the second team.

Women's Team Scores

1. Aquinas (30 pts)

2. Cornerstone (67 pts)

3. Madonna (84 pts)

4. Siena Heights (86 pts)

5. Indiana Tech  (121 pts)

6. Davenport (151 pts)

7. Michigan-Dearborn (196 pts)

8. Concordia (227 pts)