EMU MXC Clinches 16th MAC Championship in Program History

EMU MXC Clinches 16th MAC Championship in Program History

Provided by EMU

MUNCIE, Ind. (EMUEagles.com)—The Eastern Michigan University men's cross country team captured its 16th Mid-American Conference Cross Country Championship in program history this afternoon, Oct. 29, after scoring a field-best 68 points at the 2011 MAC Cross Country Championships in Muncie, Ind.

The Eagles placed five runners in the top-20 and landed two athletes on the All-MAC squads after averaging a 24:50.3 time as a team on the 8,000-meter Muncie Elks Golf Course. Head Coach John Goodridge was named the 2011 MAC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season and the seventh time in his career at EMU.

Terefe Ejigu earned First Team All-MAC after pacing the Green and White this afternoon. The junior maintained a 4:54 pace throughout the meet, helping him put together a place, 26:16.0 performance.

In just his first MAC Championship run, redshirt-freshman Daryl Smith was impressive, completing the distance in 24:47.3 for a ninth place performance. His efforts helped garner Second Team All-MAC accolades.

Also partaking in his first MAC Championship effort was Nick Petro. The sophomore ran a time of 24:59.9 as the 18th finisher.

Goodridge was not only pleased with his team's efforts on the course today, but he was very excited for both Smith and Petro's performances.

“The competition was spirited as expected and our guys responded with a solid team effort,” said Goodridge. “Smith and Petro were competing in their first conference championship for us and delivered key efforts as our second and third scorers.”

Closing out the top-20 for the Eagles were Harry Dixon and captain Austin Hendrix. The duo crossed the finish line in 19th and 20th place, respectively, while Cole Sanseverino and James Hughes rounded out the scoring with 27th and 43rd place performances.

Retaining the title has seemed fitting for Goodridge, as the Green and White are currently participating in the 100th season since men's cross country was introducted at EMU.

“Winning a conference championship is always a special collegiate experience,” said Goodridge. “With this year being the 100th anniversary of EMU cross country, it was extra special. I'm very proud of this team and happy for them that they have added another chapter to the tradition of this great program."

First Team All-MAC
Tecumseh Adams-Central Michigan
Terefe Ejigu-Eastern Michigan
Brad Hough-Akron
Michael Heller-Kent State
Jarrod Eick-Miami
Jason Drudge-Central Michigan
Jonathan Dewitt-Toledo

Second Team All-MAC
John Inzina-Buffalo
Daryl Smith-Eastern Michigan
Tyler Ames-Ohio
Stephen Fisher-Kent State
Mike Pressler-Buffalo
Nick Thomas-Toledo
Noah Howkins-Ohio

MAC Coach of the Year
John Goodridge-Eastern Michigan