Spartans Finish Regular Season Strong at EMU Fall Classic

Spartans Finish Regular Season Strong at EMU Fall Classic

Provided by MSU

Oct. 21, 2011

2011 EMU Fall Classic Results Get Acrobat Reader

DEXTER, Mich. -The Michigan State cross country team concluded its pre-championship racing on Friday, Oct. 21 with the EMU Fall Classic in Dexter, Mich. The non-scored event was MSU's final race before the final three races of the season - the Big Ten Championships, the NCAA Great Lakes Regional and the NCAA Championships.

"I was really pleased today," said director of cross country and track & field Walt Drenth "I felt that both sides ran really well. Most of the kids that ran here won't run in the conference meet, but you get an indication of how your team is competing by this ground. I thought our mental state here was very strong, and I feel that it is a great indication for where we will be in a week when we go to the Big Ten Championships. They really stepped up, and with both genders, we are not very far from being exceptional."

Elizabeth Watson placed fifth with a time of 18:10.14 to lead all MSU runners. Devan John followed Watson in sixth, finishing in 18:11.27. Meggan Freeland was the third Spartan to cross as she posted a time of 18:23.81.

Veronica Wilson and Klare Essad were the fourth and fifth to finish for the Green and White, respectively. Wilson posted an 18:41.03, while Essad finished in 18:41.03.

Unattached Lindsey Clark was the top female finisher, as she clocked in at 17:52.20.

Ben Miller and Caleb Rhynard were top two finishers in the men's 5k, running unattached. Miller clocked in at 15:16.83 while Rhynard finished in 15:19.42.

Travis Borchard was the top finisher in the Green and White, clocking in at 16:12.19. Stephen Humes finished a little over a second behind Borchard with his time of 16:13.09. Matt McSween rounded out the men when he crossed in 16:23.94.

The Spartans open the championship season with the 2011 Big Ten Championships in Urbana, Ill., hosted by the University of Illinois. Racing is scheduled to kick-off at 11:45 a.m. ET.