Kipsang to lead 'best-ever' field for Frankfurt Marathon's 30th edition

Kipsang to lead 'best-ever' field for Frankfurt Marathon's 30th edition

Provided by IAAF

Frankfurt, Germany - Course record holder and defending champion Wilson Kipsang will lead the strongest field ever at the BMW Frankfurt Marathon on 30 October when Germany's oldest city Marathon celebrates its 30th edition.

Kipsang blazed a sizzling 2:04:57 victory at this IAAF Gold Label Road Race last year, the third fastest performance of 2010 and one which places the 29-year-old Kenyan in the No. 9 position on the all-time world list. He'll be leading a field that includes seven other men who have dipped under 2:08 while the women's field boasts four who have clocked better than 2:25.

In the men’s race, 15 runners will arrive with career bests of sub-2:10; three of those have run faster than 2:07. Kipsang's chief competitors will likely be Kenyan Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot (2:05:52) and Deriba Merga (2:06:38) of Ethiopia. Unfortunately Kenyan Gilbert Kirwa, the winner in Frankfurt two years ago with a 2:06:14 run, had to cancel his start due to an injury.

The women’s elite field has very good depth as well with 13 of the entrants featuring personal bests of sub-2:30; of those four who have run under 2:25. The fastest include Merima Mohammed (Ethiopia/2:23:06), Rita Jeptoo (Kenya/2:23:38), Agnes Kiprop (Kenya/2:24:07) and Mamitu Daska (Ethiopia/2:24:18). Germany’s Sabrina Mockenhaupt, who had won the race in 2008, and Ethiopia’s Fate Tola, who had taken the Vienna City Marathon in April this year, could also be in with a fine performance.

“We are very happy that we have managed to continue our strong development of recent years, regarding both the elite race and the mass race," said Race Director Jo Schindler. "Now we are looking forward to an exciting race and hope that weather conditions will be fine.”

Organisers for the IAAF

The elite field for the BMW Frankfurt Marathon:


Wilson Kipsang, KEN               2:04:57

Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot, KEN   2:05:52

Deriba Merga, ETH               2:06:38

Philip Sanga, KEN                 2:07:10

Levy Matebo, KEN                 2:07:31

Wilfred Kigen, KEN               2:07:33

Shentema Gudisa, ETH             2:07:34

Deressa Chimsa Edae, ETH         2:07:39

Siraj Gena, ETH                 2:08:39

Henry Sugut, KEN                 2:08:40

Chumba Dickson Kiptolo, KEN     2:08:45

Sila Toek, KEN                   2:09:09

Albert Matebor, KEN               2:09:16

Raymond Kandie, KEN               2:09:23

Lusapho April, RSA               2:09:25

Tesfaye Eticha, ETH             2:10:05

Henryk Szost, POL                 2:10:27

Duncan Koech, KEN               2:10:27

Damt Kuashu Taye, ETH           2:10:31

Dino Sefir, ETH                 2:10:33

Günther Weidlinger, AUT         2:10:47

Meftah Abdellatif, FRA           2:10:53

André Pollmächer, GER             2:13:09


Merima Mohammed, ETH         2:23:06

Rita Jeptoo, KEN             2:23:38

Agnes Kiprop, KEN           2:24:07

Mamitu Daska, ETH           2:24:18

Sabrina Mockenhaupt, GER   2:26:21

Fate Tola, ETH               2:26:21

Liz Yelling, GBR             2:28:33

Alena Samokhvalova, RUS     2:28:47

Lisa Weightman, AUS         2:28:48

Aniko Kalovics, HUN         2:29:04

Kirsten Melkevik, NOR       2:29:12

Susanne Hahn, GER           2:29:26

Beata Rakonczai, HUN         2:29:54

Tatyana Borisova, KGZ       2:30:35

Andrea Mayr, AUT             2:30:43

Volha Dubovskaya, BLR       2:31:41

Flomena Chepchirchir, KEN, Debut