Former Laker Darien Thornton Finishes 7th At USA Track & Field Championships

Former Laker Darien Thornton Finishes 7th At USA Track & Field Championships

Provided by GVSU


Kyle Chestnut - Student Assistant


Bookmark and Share


2017 Outdoor Track & Field Championship Homepages:


Seniors | Juniors



Former Laker All-American, Darien Thornton, competed at the USA Track & Field Championships on Thursday, June 22 where he placed seventh in the hammer throw. Thornton, who was seeded seventh heading into the event, cemented his spot in the finals with a toss of 222' 2" (67.72m) after a first throw of 217' 4" (66.25m). That throw would end up being his best as the former national champion faulted on his final four throws.



Thornton isn't the only athlete with GVSU ties at the four day long event, as the Lakers are represented by current student-athletes in Justin Scavarda (Junior Shot-Put and Discus), Jacob Battani (Junior Pole Vault), Megan Caltagirone (Junior 3000m Steeplechase) and former Laker national champion Kristen Hixson (Senior Pole Vault).



Below is a schedule of the events that Grand Valley State athletes will be apart of over the next three days:



Friday (June 23):


Justin Scavarda - Junior Shot Put, 12:45 p.m. PDT (3:45 p.m. ET)



Saturday (June 24):


Justin Scavarda - Junior Discus, 10:20 a.m. PDT (1:20 p.m. ET)


Jacob Battani - Junior Pole Vault, 4:00 p.m. PDT (7:00 p.m. ET)


Megan Caltagirone - Junior 3000m Steeplechase, 4:20 p.m. PDT (7:20 p.m. ET)



Sunday (June 25):


Kristen Hixson - Senior Pole Vault, 12:00 p.m. PDT (3:00 p.m. ET)

Comments