NCAA Champion Abbey D’Agostino named USA Track & Field’s Athlete of the Week

NCAA Champion Abbey D’Agostino named USA Track & Field’s Athlete of the Week

Provided by USATF

INDIANAPOLIS — Abbey D’Agostino has been named USA Track & Field’s Athlete of the Week after winning the NCAA Division I Cross Country women’s title in Terre Haute, Ind., last weekend.

The Dartmouth senior ran a smart race in the windy, cold, muddy conditions to cross the line in first place with a time of 20:00.3. D’Agostino (Topsfield, Mass.) held her pace with the lead pack behind race leader Kate Avery from Iona College. A five-time national champion and 10-time All-American, D’Agostino became the first Ivy League runner on either the men’s or women’s side to win the title, becoming the most decorated individual student-athlete since 1883.

“It’s incredible,” D’Agostino told Race Results Weekly’s David Monti. “I know that I couldn’t have done it without my team here, because that was like the one missing piece when I was here the last couple of years. We were talking about it last night. To have these girls with me on the line was like… there’s nothing to worry about. You know your family is here.”

Other performances from last week include Erin Taylor-Talcott winning both the Women's Masters 50k Race Walking Championship, as well as the women’s Open title. Her mark of 4:50:40 set the American Record and World Record for the 35-39 age group.

The 50k USA Race Walking Championships served as the selection competition for the 2014 World Race Walking Cup.

Now in its 12th year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

2013 Winners: January 9, Bobby Mack; January 16, Mary Cain; January 22, Ajeé Wilson; January 30, Duane Solomon; February 6, Chris Derrick; February 13, Jeremy Taiwo; February 20, Alysia Montaño; February 27, Galen Rupp; March 6, Jenn Suhr; March 13, Tia Brooks; March 20, Bridget Franek; March 27, Ben True; April 3, Darvis “Doc” Patton; April 10, Octavious Freeman; April 24, Erik Kynard; May 1, Queen Harrison; May 8, Tyson Gay; May 15, Jon Olsen; May 22, Mary Cain; May 29, Michael Tinsley; June 5, Mary Cain; June 12, Brianna Rollins; June 26, Brianna Rollins; July 3, Thomas Burns; July 10, Ryan Whiting; July 17, William Bell. Sr.; July 24, Jenny Simpson; July 31, Tia Jones; August 14, Brittney Reese; August 21, LaShawn Merritt; August 28, Megan Glasmann; September 4, Matt Tegenkamp; September 11, Mandy Ortiz; September 18, David Oliver; September 25, Molly Huddle; October 3, Desi Davila; October 10, Kathryn Martin; October 17, Michael Mannozzi; October 24, Matt Flaherty; October 30, Kelly Calway; November 7, Tatyana McFadden; November 18, Molly Huddle; November 25, Abbey D’Agostino.

About USA Track & Field

USA Track & Field (USATF) is the National Governing Body for track and field, long-distance running and race walking in the United States. USATF encompasses the world's oldest organized sports, some of the most-watched events of Olympic broadcasts, the country’s #1 high school and junior high school participatory sport and more than 30 million adult runners in the United States. For more information on USATF, visit

Christa Mann