Hutton Leads Oakland at Summit League Championships; Men 6th, Women 7th

Hutton Leads Oakland at Summit League Championships; Men 6th, Women 7th

Provided by Oakland U

TULSA, Okla. - Brittni Hutton, Lia Jones and Kenny Wall each earned All-Summit League honors as the Oakland men's team was sixth and the women's team placed seventh at The Summit League Championship on Saturday. Hutton was fourth in the women's 6K race in a time of 22:06.40, while Wall placed 13th in the 8K men's race in 25:47.30.

"We had a few good individual performances today, but we all know this is not an individual sport," said Oakland head coach Paul Rice. "Today was a learning experience for us all, and I am pretty sure everyone will agree that we don't want to go through this experience again."

Jones finished in a time 22:32.51 and took 11th place to claim all-league honors for the second consecutive season. Hannah Scherer was third on the Oakland team and placed 39th in a time of 23:44.81.

Brandon Griffin finished in 25:55.40 for 15th place, falling one place shy of earning all-league honors. Nathan Ziolko rounded out Oakland's top three finishers with a 27th place finish in a time of 26:25.00.



Southern Utah's Cameron Levins won the men's race in 24:34.40, while SUU's Diana Medina won the women's race in a time of 21:37.75. Southern Utah won the men's Summit League Championship, while North Dakota State won the women's race.

"Over the next two weeks the focus needs to be on staying healthy," said Rice. "That will help us do the best we can on a much larger stage at Regionals in Toledo. This has been a rebuilding year for us and right now we just have to keep fighting through the frustration."

The Oakland teams will return to action on Nov. 12 to compete at the Great Lakes Regional in Toledo, Ohio. The first race of the regionals will start at 11:00 a.m.

Oakland Women's Finishers - 6K (7/10)

4. Brittni Hutton - 22:06.40
11. Lia Jones - 22:32.51
39. Hannah Scherer - 23:44.81
44. Cassandra Peterson - 23:55.80
53. Autumn Cleverley - 24:20.75
58. Sarah Oren - 24:40.75
75. Emma Claucherty - 26:05.65
78. Megan Brackins - 26:49.44

Oakland Men's Finishers - 8K (6/10)

13. Kenny Wall - 25:47.30
15. Brandon Griffin - 25:55.40
27. Nathan Ziolko - 26:25.00
32. Joe Osentoski - 26:39.00
42. Steve Marcinkowski - 27:00.30
44. Anthony Sterzick - 27:08.70
53. Calvin Magier -27:33.40
59. Jake Magier - 28:05.60